Resolved Opening a new window in a separate "space"

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by daihard, Nov 8, 2011.

  1. daihard, Nov 8, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2011

    daihard macrumors 6502a

    daihard

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #1
    Hi.

    I would like to be able to open a new instance (i.e. "window") of an open application in a separate space (i.e. "virtual desktop"). For instance, let's say I have my first terminal window open on my 1st space, but I am currently on my 2nd space. Now if I click "Command + N" to open a new terminal window, it takes me back to the 1st desktop. Instead, I would like to stay on the 2nd space and have the new terminal window open right there. Is it possible?

    I looked for an option like that in the System Preferences, but to no avail.

    TIA!
     
  2. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #2
    im new to mac so excuse my ignorance when you say space but do you mean a new desktop? you can open mission control and move open windows to the desired desktop if thats what you want
     
  3. kevin2i macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #3
    As far as I know, you will have to drag it to a new desk top. On a MBP, if you have 3-finger drag enabled, just put the mouse on the title bar, and with 3 fingers on the track pad, option+arrow to another space (yes it takes 2 hands, but faster than going to mission control).

    (easier) on a desk top (mac pro) just click and hold the title bar and hit opt+arrow. This works on a MBP with trackpad only if 3-finger drag is disabled.

    Occassionally I seem to be able to just drag a window to the next space (similar to linux) - but this doesn't work consistently - or maybe this was lost with 10.7.2
     
  4. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #4
    good post, how do you add a new desktop without opening mission control?
     
  5. daihard thread starter macrumors 6502a

    daihard

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    Yes, I mean a new desktop. I know that I can drag an existing app instance to a new desktop as kevin2i explained, but I don't want to have to do that. It will be a lot easier if I can just switch to a new, empty desktop and start opening new instances of an open application.

    BTW I use a magic trackpad and have 3-finger dragging enabled. It works extremely well. :)

    ----------

    I believe kevin2i meant "going to a new desktop" with Option + Arrow. You can do the same with 4-finger side swiping, which I usually do to move between desktops.
     
  6. colourfastt macrumors 6502a

    colourfastt

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    #6
    "Desktops" are only a function of Lion; Leopard and Snow Leopard had "spaces", and there was no "Mission Control".
     
  7. zepman macrumors regular

    zepman

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Sweden
    #7
    Right click the applications icon in the dock. Choose "New window" and a new window opens in the current desktop even if another window of the application is already open in a different desktop.
     
  8. daihard thread starter macrumors 6502a

    daihard

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #8
    Thanks! That works. I wish there was a way to do the same using a keyboard shortcut as I am a keyboard person, but this is good enough for now. :)
     

Share This Page