Opening dmg files

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Wide Wheels, Feb 12, 2008.

  1. Wide Wheels macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    I've just got my first imac so please excuse me if this is a silly question. I've got a dmg file that I wish to open from a dvd. I've double clicked on the .dmg file's icon in Finder and I have a dialogue box open that says that it's opening the .dmg file in question, and that it's verifying it.

    However, about a third of the way through it tells me "The following disk images failed to mount..." and that the reason is an input/output error.

    Does anybody have any ideas as to why it's doing this? I've tried another .dmg file from another dvd and it does the same thing at about the same point in the process.

    Any help would be very gratefully received.
     
  2. ::Lisa:: macrumors 6502a

    ::Lisa::

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #2
    Try dragging them onto your desktop and opening them there. I believe the reason they're failing is because it needs to actually mount it and is unable to do so on the DVD you are using. Although someone else needs to verify that.
     
  3. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    It should be able to mount them from a dvd. My first thought was that the .dmg was corrupt but as you tried another one from another dvd the chances of that happening falls. I would definitley try mounting them from the desktop. If that fails a reboot and try again.
     
  4. Wide Wheels thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #4
    Hi,

    I've just tried copying it to my desktop and it got about the same way through the process before hitting me with this...

    "The Finder cannot complete the operation because some data in [the dmg file] could not be read or written (Error code-36)" so presumably there's something wrong with the disk?
     
  5. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #5
    It is looking that way, have you tried a restart, checking the disc is physically in good condition.
     

Share This Page