OpenOffice problem

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iNeverStop88, Mar 18, 2008.

  1. iNeverStop88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #1
    I'm trying to put "Times New Romans" font on my open office I just installed.
    I cannot find it.

    I use iBook G4, 10,3,x OS

    Thanks.
     
  2. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Font handling under X11 is generally a bit iffy on OS X without a lot of faffing around.

    I'd suggest switching to NeoOffice, which is a native Aqua port of OpenOffice - all the same functionality, but it doesn't require XWindows - it will therefore use all fonts installed in any of the standard locations (and it works more like a Mac app, too).
     
  3. QuantumLo0p macrumors 6502a

    QuantumLo0p

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #3
    Ditto for NeoOffice. Seems to work fine for me on most of what I need to do but I am not a power user. You know what they say, "85% of Word users use only 15% of the functionality." I recommend to try it out for yourself.

    I have to admit I want to use it until I order iWork 08, but then again I may not and just stick with NeoOffice. I don't need iWork's Keynote but iWork's Numbers I could definitely use. Undecided at this point.

    Sorry to get off topic. Also, I heard a new version of NeoOffice is coming soon.
     
  4. thunderclap macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    I third NeoOffice. They also seem to patch more frequently.
     
  5. bloodycape macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    I am really feeling the beta 3 of openoffice it is native and fast.
     

Share This Page