OpenSSH Saved My @$$

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by scirica, Mar 28, 2010.

  1. scirica macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #1
    For those of you considering whether or not to keep OpenSSH active at all times consider this:

    Last night before heading to bed I decided to activate one of my html LockInfo themes via Winterboard. (Normally I just use native LockInfo). After checking the theme, and exiting Winterboard, the iPhone did it's requisite res-pring. Then the story gets ugly...

    Long story short, the re-spring got so far as to build the status bar, show the battery status, then went into another re-spring. After a few of these, the phone would do a re-boot. No matter what I did I couldn't break this cycle.

    Fortunately, the status bar showed that I did have wifi and carrier connection, so I thought if I could just SSH into my phone while it was "trying" to initialize the LockInfo theme I could perhaps delete that theme folder and on the next respring/reboot it would not hang on the theme.

    So I did just that, fired up WinSCP and via OpenSSH was able to delete the offending theme. On the next reboot, the phone started up successfully and all is well! :D

    If I did NOT have OpenSSH active, there would have been no way to get into the phone during this boot cycle and I would have been hosed. I was actually away from home last night so I painfully watched/listened to my 3G(s) going through reboot cycles all night until I got home this morning.

    Lesson re-enforced: Always keep OpenSSH active, just in case. Just be sure to change your root and mobile passwords and you'll be fine from a security standpoint.

    Cheers.
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Well said.
    Its always good to have OpenSSH installed just in cases like that.
     
  3. gixxerfool macrumors 6502a

    gixxerfool

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #3
    Would diskaid work as well. I don't have wifi available most times.
     
  4. spamdumpster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #4
    If you have OpenSSH installed it will automatically start when the device is rebooted -- for exactly this type of situation. So, there's no reason to keep it running all of the time (especially if you haven't changed the root password) -- if you need it, just reboot, and it will load.

    DiskAid or other similar browsers usually work just as well.
     
  5. scirica thread starter macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #5
    I didn't realize SSH restarted at reboot. Thanks for the info, that makes sense!
     
  6. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #6
    My question is how you have wifi that much. Mine only comes on when I surf. I'm always having problems while sshing when wifi goes out and then comes back on.
     
  7. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    I'm not so sure that's true... If you use the SBSettings toggle at least I think it disables the sshd from running in the init.d startups...

    I keep mine on all the time anyway. I used it for this same reason. I also have done the same with DiskAid but I prefer SSH. DiskAid is nice though because I do turn off Wifi from time to time.

    I have a non-default password so I'm not worried about security with SSH. I have it running on all of my home computers and I trust it there, why not with my phone?

    I you change your default passwords there's no reason why you shouldn't be running SSH all the time.
     
  8. scirica thread starter macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #8
    Well for one won't chance it and I'm keeping SSH toggled ON. Passwords are secured, so no worries about security!
     
  9. spamdumpster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #9

    I just toggled SSH to off using SBSetings, rebooted, and it was running again. I do agree with you that, assuming you change the default password, there's no reason not to have it running all the time.
     

Share This Page