Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Killerbob

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jan 25, 2008
1,793
557
Just the other day I realised there is a new "link" in my Network in Finder. It is named openthread.thread.home.arpa

Any suggestions as to what that is?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Redcodi and bytez01

ksgant

macrumors 6502a
Jan 12, 2006
796
667
Chicago
I just noticed it too. No idea what it is. Just installed the Public Beta of Monterey, and that's when it showed up. Digging deeper someone said it has to do with Nest thermostats and things like that, but I don't have anything like that in the house.

Some sort of new Apple Home thing?
 

Madonepro

macrumors 6502a
Mar 16, 2011
645
620
Anyone got an understanding of this, and why it's there? And importantly, how to remove it?

I have tried turning off Home, reseting networks etc. When I turn of wifi, it disappears, but immediately returns when turned back on. Using Hotspot on an iPhone, and it goes.
 

Madonepro

macrumors 6502a
Mar 16, 2011
645
620
I just noticed it too. No idea what it is. Just installed the Public Beta of Monterey, and that's when it showed up. Digging deeper someone said it has to do with Nest thermostats and things like that, but I don't have anything like that in the house.

Some sort of new Apple Home thing?
Really disappointing that no one seems to want to engage in this topic, but I guess they are all out there salivating at the return of the MagSafe!
 

Killerbob

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jan 25, 2008
1,793
557
I raised this issue, but it has gone away, and I no longer see it in my Finder. I am the RC client.
 

podycust

macrumors 6502
Aug 29, 2017
276
484
Just the other day I realised there is a new "link" in my Network in Finder. It is named openthread.thread.home.arpa

Any suggestions as to what that is?
Do you have an HomePod mini?

As thread is an network protocol (very similar to zigbee used by hue lightbulbs) used by smart home devices and the HomePod mini works as thread border router allowing you to control them from your iPhone etc


its Still there for me on the RC build.
 

GeeVee72

macrumors newbie
Oct 22, 2021
1
1
I just recently bought a HomPod Mini and now I see the openthread.thread.home.arpa icon in the Network in Finder. Probably something related to that? I'm running macOS Monterrey 12.0.1.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bytez01

podycust

macrumors 6502
Aug 29, 2017
276
484
I just recently bought a HomPod Mini and now I see the openthread.thread.home.arpa icon in the Network in Finder. Probably something related to that? I'm running macOS Monterrey 12.0.1.
it would appear to be related to the HomePod mini thread border router capability and it goes away if I unplug my HomePod mini. Maybe something to do with the upcoming matter standard
 
  • Like
Reactions: kOoLiNuS

Madonepro

macrumors 6502a
Mar 16, 2011
645
620
it would appear to be related to the HomePod mini thread border router capability and it goes away if I unplug my HomePod mini. Maybe something to do with the upcoming matter standard
I don't use HomeKit, nor do I have a HomePod, in many ways I have the most simple of setups, as other than Microsoft 365 (Word and Excel), yet I have this issue, from a clean install.
 

Madonepro

macrumors 6502a
Mar 16, 2011
645
620
Completely wiped system, only device connected is my MacBook Pro, running todays public release of OS Monterey, and again I have the open thread.thread.open.arpa WTF
 
  • Haha
  • Like
Reactions: aonez and bytez01

bytez01

macrumors newbie
Sep 3, 2020
14
10
I also have openthread.thread.home.arpa showing up under networks. Does anyone know what this is or how to remove/delete it??
 

Killerbob

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jan 25, 2008
1,793
557
Damn - after the upgrade to Monterey RC the ICON shows up again...
 

Madonepro

macrumors 6502a
Mar 16, 2011
645
620
Damn - after the upgrade to Monterey RC the ICON shows up again...
Once upon a time, a bug like this would have the Mac Rumorites salivating at getting their teeth into a fix. Sadly these days, all that seems to get posted are; look at my/me new toy. Without the help and assistance to help users fix issues, what is the purpose going forward with this site?
 
  • Like
Reactions: SRLMJ23

Adelholzener

macrumors newbie
Dec 19, 2018
5
2
I have "openthread.thread.home.arpa" on my network folder as well after upgrading to Monterey. I don't have a Google Nest or something and didn't change anything on my home network in the last days.

How to find out which device is this? Can we get the internal network IP of "openthread.thread.home.arpa"?

Edit: Might it have something to do with that?
 
Last edited:

feanvilo

macrumors newbie
Nov 30, 2021
1
0
I used Terminal to run "nslookup openthread.thread.home.arpa" and resolved the IP of my raspberry pi running Pi-Hole.
 

GuyNamedRitchie

macrumors newbie
May 17, 2012
2
0
I have "openthread.thread.home.arpa" on my network folder as well after upgrading to Monterey. I don't have a Google Nest or something and didn't change anything on my home network in the last days.

How to find out which device is this? Can we get the internal network IP of "openthread.thread.home.arpa"?

Edit: Might it have something to do with that?
Thank so much, that is the solution! (not OP, but thanks heaps!)
 

cpragman

macrumors newbie
Nov 21, 2008
22
16
I don't have any HomePods, Nest thermostats, or other thread devices. But I do have an AppleTV. And am seeing it too.
 

TheRevenite

macrumors newbie
Feb 20, 2023
1
1
Missouri, USA
I just upgraded my AppleTV 4K to the latest, way faster, model and noticed the openthread address, and thought it sounded familiar. I tried HomeKit when it was released for Hue Lighting, but hated my phone kind of being the Home Kit hub, if you will. So this is nice, now if I can figure out how to use it on my Mac. Thanks to this forum, I was able to make the connection.

Anyway, this is where I saw "Thread"

Features
4K Dolby Vision and HDR10+ for vivid picture quality

Dolby Atmos for three-dimensional, theater-like sound²

Incredible power with the A15 Bionic chip

Siri Remote brings precise control with a touch-enabled clickpad

Apple Original shows and movies from Apple TV+³

The latest shows, movies, sports, and live TV, all in one place¹

More ways to enjoy your TV with Apple Arcade, Apple Fitness+, and Apple Music³

Use AirPlay to share photos, videos, and more from your iPhone, iPad, and Mac on your TV⁴

Private listening with up to two sets of AirPods

Wi-Fi and Ethernet for high-speed data transfer

Acts as a home hub to connect and control smart home accessories, with Thread for more connectivity⁵


¹Subscription may be required to access some content. Not all content is available in 4K HDR formats. 4K resolution requires 4K-capable TV. Title and app availability are subject to change. Some apps are not available in all areas.

²Dolby Atmos features require Dolby Atmos–capable devices and may not be available for all titles and languages.

³Apple TV+, Apple Music, Apple Arcade, and Apple Fitness+ all require a subscription.

⁴AirPlay is compatible with second-generation Apple TV or later.

⁵Compatible with HomeKit or Matter-enabled Thread accessories only. Requires Thread-enabled home hub or border router.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sauria

pollarliam

macrumors newbie
Apr 25, 2023
1
1
Super old post but wanted to clarify for the people whom may stumble upon this eventually.

No, openthread.thread.home.arpa is not malware, and it is not a bug, it's simply, well as the name implies, a visible device running on your network, more specifically a thread border router, this may happen if you own a: HomePod, HomePod mini, recent AppleTV 4k or other thread border routers.
 
  • Love
Reactions: Sproch
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.