Opera Browser is hidden in Leopard

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by techguy40, Apr 8, 2008.

  1. techguy40 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #1
    I didn't know that Leopard comes with the Opera Browser


    I found it on Finder.

    Goto Finder than services and than Opera.
     
  2. ZiggyPastorius macrumors 68040

    ZiggyPastorius

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Berklee College of Music
    #2
    Good! Atleast Apple is admitting defeat in the browser war ;)

    Not really, but, Opera does kick every other browser's ass, so...win.
     
  3. SDDave2007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #3
    Uh.... I don't see it....

    Are you sure you don't have Parallels or VMWare installed with Windows.... and perhaps you are seeing OPERA installed there?

    I have only one file on my system named OPERA and it is in fact the WINDOWS version of the browser....

    Directory
    WINDOWS_XP -> WINDOWS APPLICATIONS -> Opera Internet Browser.app
     
  4. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #4
    if you have photoshop, it installs opera as part of the app
     
  5. SubaruNation555 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Location:
    Arlington, VA USA
    #5
    Same, right-clicking on an image will bring up the option for Opera.
     
  6. techguy40 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #6
    nope no parallels or vmmware install

    On Leopard

    goto Finder

    1) Click finder on top toolbar next to the Apple on left top corner

    2) click on Services

    3) click on Opera
     
  7. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #7
    Yeah, it's not there. Apple doesn't ship Leopard with Opera.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. n00basaur macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
  9. SDDave2007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #9
    Nope... No Opera under Finder..... and like I posted earlier.... Spotlight only found the Opera I installed under Parallels....

    I also just checked my new MBP..... and its not there either....
     
  10. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #10
    lol people should read my post as i answered the question and people are still asking where its from......:rolleyes:
     
  11. Ninja Dom macrumors 6502

    Ninja Dom

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    #11
    Why does installing Photoshop also install Opera?? What's the relation between the two??
     
  12. Blubbert macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    #12
    Something in the CS series of programs uses Opera's rendering engine. I dont know which program exactly though.
     
  13. Mac-Addict macrumors 65816

    Mac-Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Yeah I've always had Opera installed on my mac but I've never ever downloaded it and for some reason it forces me to open torrents with it, refuses to change.
     
  14. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #14
    Right click a .torrent, hit "Get Info", select the app you WANT to open it, then check "Always open with this App".
     
  15. e32 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #15
    Yeah, CS3 uses it to render parts of its suite.
     
  16. RaceTripper macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #16
    IIRC, Opera was used by Adobe Bridge CS3 for support of Adobe Stock Photos, a web-based service that is no longer available. Adobe has an uninstaller to remove Stock Photos from Bridge and that seems to remove Opera as well, since I don't seem to have it anymore.
     
  17. Mac-Addict macrumors 65816

    Mac-Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #17
    Thats what I meant when I say it refuses to change :)
     
  18. duncyboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #18
    Go to Preferences -> Advanced -> Downloads

    Type

    torrent

    in the Quickfind box. Select Torrents, click edit, change the settings from "Open With Opera" to "Save To Disk" or whatever your preference is.

    You can also do this with media files like .mov, .avi, .wav etc.
     
  19. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #19

    Haha, Safari and FireFox laugh at your comment!
     
  20. mrwizardno2 macrumors 6502a

    mrwizardno2

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #20
    They always gloss over the first right answer. It's the MR way.

    I think you're right. I never knew where it came from, but I never noticed it until I installed photoshop.
     
  21. Blubbert macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    #21
    Hardly, considering that they are playing catch up most of the time...
     
  22. MacAodh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Dublin, Eire
    #22
    I've camino there but i unistaled camino ages ago...
     
  23. ZiggyPastorius macrumors 68040

    ZiggyPastorius

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Berklee College of Music
    #23
    So true.

    Well, Opera is kind of like Mac OS X for me...It's much more functional, ahead of the competition, and in my opinion, looks a lot better :D My only complaints are the Mac version needs to catch up with the Windows version, and they need to fix the scrolling...The only thing I like better about Safari is the scrolling is smooth.
     
  24. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #24
    Surprising how many don't read the entire thread before posting.

    And yes, I am guilty of that as well on occasion. :)
     
  25. duncyboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #25
    Amen to that.

    Not just the scrolling but no minimise option on tabs and the block content doesn't always work.

    Still my No.1 browser though. I love it.
     

Share This Page