Opera installed by default ?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Tex-Twil, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #1
    Hi,
    when I open a .torrent file on my MBP, the default application that opens it is Opera. I never installed Opera. I can't see Opera in my Applications and spotlight can't find it either ...

    Is that normal ?

    Thanks,
    Tex
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Have you got Adobe CS3 (or CS4 probably) installed? If so it installs Opera inside one of it's bundles. LaunchServices can still find it. It's one the multiple annoying things about Adobe products!
     
  3. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #3
    ok that's the reason. Thanks ;)
     
  4. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #4
    Get info on the torrent file (in Finder, File -> Get Info) and select your preferred BitTorrent client under Open with, then click Change All.
     
  5. sjorge macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #5
    IIRC It's bridge that comes with opera.

    Updating the bundled binary to a newer version doesn't work for some reason though. You're right thats it's very annoying. (Then again CS4 is buggy at best! COMMNAD+A -> COMMAND+Q,... using a non QWERTY mac) erm nvm that last bit :p
     
  6. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #6
    thanks, that's fine. I was just surprised that I have Opera on my OS.
     
  7. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #7
    Yeah, I'm a little miffed with Adobe for installing Opera without asking me first. I don't like Opera. I find the interface to be counterintuitive and the browser to be too heavy and overloaded with useless features for my liking. Yeah, yeah, I don't have to use it if I don't want to. I just don't like having software on my computer that I don't use.
     

Share This Page