Opera installed itself on my mac how?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by XxpikachuxX, Jul 27, 2009.

  1. XxpikachuxX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    #1
    i downloaded mercury Im andd received a wink and i clicked on play wink then opera open!!! and played the wink on the page but how is opera in my macbook when i got to spotlight and type opera it can't find anything but i clicked on opera show in finder and suposely is on a folder called MacOS
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Do you have any Adobe apps installed?

    IIRC, CS3 installed Opera on mine a while ago ...
     
  3. XxpikachuxX thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
  4. Jasoco macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    #4
    I removed BOTH versions of Opera that were contained inside my Photoshop CS3 app. (Two different version numbers!) I also deleted the Bridge and Device Central apps and other stuff, including cutting out the PPC binary with Monolingual and pretty much getting Photoshop down to a total of 222MB (The Intel-only Photoshop itself is 118MB, the app was twice that size before losing its PPC binary.) in one folder. And it still works.

    Adobe pulls some pretty stupid stuff. I had to go to a lot of trouble to trim down the bloat.

    Opera is there for Photoshop's web stuff. Though why? Don't they think the user will already have a browser installed? Screw you, Adobe.
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    IIRC, Bridge requires Opera's render engine in order to browse your photos. Have you tried to use Bridge since deleting Opera?
     
  6. Matek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #6
    Installing stuff the user didn't ask for seems to be a common practice.
     
  7. aaron11193 macrumors regular

    aaron11193

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Karumba/Cairns/Charters Towers, QLD, Australia
    #7
    That's complete BS, Safari is offered but it isn't automatically checked for installation. You have to tell the updater to download it.
     
  8. Matek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #8
    The news is old, they turned it off a couple of months after because of harsh criticism. The move was still rotten and I'm sure it brought in a bunch of users at an important time (it was on by default right after the release of Safari for Windows).
     
  9. Jasoco macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    #9
    Did you read my entire post which says that I deleted Bridge? And Device Central? Two applications that I will never use. Ever. In a million years.

    If I want to browse photos, I will use the Finder and Spotlight or the Open dialog with Icons turned on an big. Bridge is a glorified gallery. OS X gives me a better gallery. So in the trash that bloated piece of junk Bridge goes.
     
  10. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    Oddly, I missed the word deleted.

    The advice stands for anyone else, it is there for a reason, don't just go deleting it.
     

Share This Page