Opera Mobile

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by cube, Nov 6, 2018.

  1. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #1
    The site seems to be unusable under Opera Mobile. Pages hang.
     
  2. cube, Nov 7, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2018

    cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #2
    Well, I sometimes get trouble with other sites, but not as bad as MR.

    Dolphin just doesn't find macrumors.

    I think maybe the latest BB10 update borked the Android subsystem.
     
  3. jtara macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #3
    iOS or Android?

    Strange if iOS, since every third-party browser on iOS uses Apple's UIWebview or WKWebView. WKWebview is used by Mobile Safari.

    MR, sadly, has incredibly bloated pages. How many tracker and advertising network scripts does one page need? :(
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    I just downloaded Opera for iOS and its working for me. I think you are correct that this is a BlackBerry issue and not an app/website issue.
     
  5. jtara macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #5
    Android/Play Store allows browsers that have their own rendering engine. Apple does not.

    (Sorry, I missed the BB10/Android part...)

    Chrome on iOS, as well (and ALL other iOS browsers loaded from App Store) use either UIWebView (would have to be very old browser...) or WKWebview. WKWebView is what Safari uses.

    So, on iOS, FWIW, Chrome is not really Chrome. (And Opera is not really Opera.) It is WKWebView wrapped in controls that mimic real Chrome or Opera.

    Somebody might try Opera for Chrome on some recent Android device. Since BB10 rides on Android, it's likely to act the same as BB10.
     
  6. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #6
    BB10 does not ride on Android. It has an Android runtime so that Android apps can ride on it.
     
  7. jtara macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #7
    Hmmm... MR is unlikely to have somebody with a BB10 to test...

    Is the Opera you are using an Android app, or native to BB10?

    Did you recently get an Opera update?
     
  8. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #8
    It is an Android app.

    I have to try a secure wipe.
     
  9. jtara macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #9
    I'll try Opera on an Android device, might have to give one a charge... At least it's a useful datapoint.

    (I have them for development, but they typically goes weeks without use.)
     
  10. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #10
    It must be a problem with the system, I upgraded Firefox and web pages don't start loading at all.

    Maybe the Android runtime got corrupted.
     
  11. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    Either way, its a non-standard way of doing things, and it appears the interplay between BB10, android, and web browsers is not working.
     
  12. cube, Nov 9, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 10, 2018

    cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #12
    It's a normal way of doing things on BB10.

    I have to get BlackBerry Link working properly to reload the OS.

    This is from Opera Mini.

    Is seems there's a problem with this store.

    Dolphin and big Opera would crash now, but they work if installed from Amazon. Firefox and Chrome also crash.

    Dolphin still does not find the main MR page (certificate?), and big Opera still hangs with MR.

    I reloaded the latest version of the OS and it is the same.
     

Share This Page