Opinion on i5 quad core?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by gdeputy, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. gdeputy macrumors 6502a

    gdeputy

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    What's everyones opinion on the i5 quadcore config of the iMac?

    I know sandy bridge is on the horizon but I don't realistically believe it'll be in iMac's until April, and honestly I find it more realistic to be june/july.

    Is the i5 powerful enough? I don't feel like playing the waiting game mainly because I want an iMac, but I certainly COULD wait, i have a Desktop PC that is adequate (more than adequate really). I'm tempted by the iMac, but then again I'm tempted by the 27" cinema display...

    Decisions decisions!
     
  2. biggd, Dec 7, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2010

    biggd macrumors 6502

    biggd

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary
    #2
    After looking at all your computer specs, you certainly don't "need" an iMac friend.
    Save the cash and invest in mutual funds.
     
  3. Cap41 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    #3
    biggd thats mean:)

    I would rather a slightly slower Imac then a PC any day. although I did drink the apple koolaid a few years ago.
     
  4. biggd macrumors 6502

    biggd

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary
    #4
    Haha his windows box is prime. Plus he has a laptop and lots of other goodies! Mutual funds are paying 4-6%. That's like the best thing going in this lame economy.
    Plusss he lacks "need". True product appreciation is born out of need.

    I need my gf to get fake boobs so she can look hotter, and I look awesomer. She gets fake boobs and I am ecstatic. She buys a purse, I am not ecstatic because I have no need for her to have another purse...
    All makes sense!
     
  5. gdeputy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    gdeputy

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    Hrm, you may be right, I certainly don't need an iMac. I didn't need an air, or an ipad, or an iphone, hell I didn't need my windows box, but man, it sure is nice to have it :)

    at the end of the day I just bought my air and I'm new to macs. the kool aid is getting to me, but maybe your right, maybe I should hold off.
     
  6. darknite38 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #6
    Why would you want the 27" Cinema display when you can get a 27" iMac?
     
  7. darknite38 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #7
    Yes, I would hold off a couple of years. Good choice.
     
  8. biggd macrumors 6502

    biggd

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary
    #8
    It is always fun to buy!

    But you have an iPhone and iPad. And then a box and an air. So 4 computing devices... And you can't use all 4 at once.
     
  9. tc3jg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #9
    lol count me with this guy

    I think people get caught up in specs to much I mean of course to an extent what I just said is wrong but what I mean is comparing the specs windows machines come with to what apple computers come with.

    Perhaps apple does not load their machines with the latest parts (which will be old anyway the moment they are released) is because the OS apple uses can do just fine on what they put in their machines.

    For example my Toshiba 15 in laptop is running 4 gb of memory my unibody macbook has 2gb.. if that Toshiba had 2gb i believe it would choke doing some of things that the 2gb macbook does just fine. Now im not saying more memory isnt better by all means it is and I plan on stuffing 16gb in my imac soon as I can scrape up the funds but it may not be needed for the machines to provide a good user experience.
     
  10. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    Wait. You'll thank me later. Not really. Just wait. You'll thank yourself later.
     
  11. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    OP, its all about lasting as long as you can....;)
     
  12. josh1231 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    #12
    I have an I5 Imac, and it works just fine. I have 8GB Ram and run it in 64-bit and it's pretty fast.

    The one thing I personally would suggest is just getting the I7, however. Not much more money and benchmark wise it's faster.

    To answer your question though the I5, will dofine. I do a lot of photography and photo editing, and I never had a problem with it being slow (Except when I have to connection my USB 3.0 drive to the USB 2.0 Imac).

    I have an I7-930 at work running Windows 7 64-bit with 8GB ram, and to be honest I don't see any real speed difference between the two. I am sure if I timed a combine 30 photos to panorama in photoshop, there would be a difference, but in normal every day activities its pretty unnoticeable.

    You can get the last model of 27" Imac with the I5 for $1500 on ebay, whereas the Cinema display is $999. I'd pay $500 for an I5 Imac any day.
     
  13. viizi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    #13
    if you wait more than one week after a refresh on an Apple product you are screwed, wait for next refresh ahhaha that's what I have learnt and saved me big bucks. My current mac is 2008 model and still fast as hell. Apple just makes their products look so attractive which wipes out needs out of the scenario and replaces it with want. I will be getting the iPad2 (my 1st ipad) and will be using it overseas A LOT. I go overseas in late march so I am hoping they just release before I leave.
     
  14. GaresTaylan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    #14
    Not to mention with the right adapter you would be able to use it as an external display for another machine anyway.
     

Share This Page