Opinions on the new roboform for Mac ?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mdsaul, Jan 29, 2011.

  1. mdsaul, Jan 29, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 29, 2011

    mdsaul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    #1
    I downloaded it and the verdict is still out!

    If/when they get the kinks worked out i will delete 1pasword so quickly my mac will wonder WTF just happened! (i swear form filling with 1 pass was just stupid)

    But I don't know how to merge all my 1password logins etc into roboform as all the info was for doing a roboform to 1 password merge of logins.
    any help here would be greatly appreciated.

    a few things were a bit screwed up like the numeric fields were not the right size to input your SS which is a bit silly sure there must be a big update come soon.

    Ive downloaded it installed would love it to work as it did on my PC am I hoping for too much?

    so all you savvy peeps out there whats the opinion?
     
  2. sandimacd, Feb 15, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 16, 2011

    sandimacd macrumors regular

    sandimacd

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Location:
    FL
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I am thrilled with the new Roboform desktop app. A true MAC OS. I was a Robo PC user from 2004 to 2008, moved to MACs and tried 1P. Totally frustrated and dropped it. Used Keychain, what a bear! Tried Robo online in 2009 and beta Safari in 2010. Then on Feb 7, 2011 a true Robo DMG file! Hooray, I am loving my Robo!! Identities, Safenotes, Passcards all imported and synced with Roboform Online.

    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Sorry can't help with transfer from 1P. I tried it in 2008, left it and retried it for 2 weeks. Was so miserable using 1P, I just deleted it and relied entirely on keychain.
    The only easy way I can think of is to create a free MAC user Robo Online account. Then download the integrated Safari Roboform. Then use 1P to login into everything and each time do a save log in with Robo. You would have to enter your Identities by hand but you should be able to cut and paste your Safenotes. HTH, sandi in mt
     
  3. vincegreco macrumors newbie

    vincegreco

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    staten island, ny
    #3
    Lastpass

    I was a Roboform user then switched to Mac
    now use Lastpass-works pretty good
    Don't know if I'll go back to Robo
     
  4. djsound macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #4
    Looks exactly like 1Password. Why is it different?
     
  5. vincegreco macrumors newbie

    vincegreco

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    staten island, ny
    #5
    never used 1password
    Lastpass is very secure and cross-platform
     
  6. laurencekoster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    #6
    RoboForm for Mac Identities fixed to the USA

    Although RoboForm for Mac (Safari) is available, it is only suitable for people in the USA. When you create a new Identity, it is fixed to ‘United states’, so you can’t enter a non-US address or phone number.

    There’s also RoboForm for Mac (Firefox), but this is a Lite version, so you can’t create Identities at all. To use RoboForm with Firefox on a Mac you have to install RoboForm for Mac (Firefox), which gives you the Firefox toolbar, and then you also have to install RoboForm for Mac (Safari), which gives you the separate application for creating Identities.

    There is also 1Password, which does not have the problem of being locked to the United States. However, it costs $50, whereas you can use RoboForm for free.
     
  7. Shrink macrumors G3

    Shrink

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    New England, USA
    #7


    Been using LastPass and am very satisfied. Only downside is there is no phone support - have to use an email system.
     
  8. paulined macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #8
    Roboform for the Mac - Master Password Issues

    Hi everyone,
    I don't know if anyone can help, but I am a new Mac user and downloaded Roboform for the Mac dmg file installed it, but cannot load the Master Password anywhere. It did not ask for a Master password anywhere during the installation process.

    This morning Roboform support said it would ask for a Master Password at the first attempt at saving a password - yes it did, but wouldn't recognise the Master password I had entered.

    Went to Preferences, Security and again cannot load the Master Password.

    I have used Roboform on my PCs for years and never had this issue. Can anyone out there help please.
    Cheers
    Pauline
     
  9. Theale macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    #9
    New Roboform for Mac

    On the 16th Feb this year I downloaded Roboform production release for Mac, version 0.9.90, released on Dec 29, 2011.
    I run Firefox version 5 on a Mac running O S X version 10.6.8
    I have run Roboform in the past on a PC.
    However when I tried to run Roboform it had loaded all my old passwords etc and locked them with a master password which I no longer have (or can no longer remember).
    I assume one cannot hack the master password (otherwise what would be the point of it...) so I want to re-load Roboform WITHOUT it also loading all my old passwords etc. so how do I do this? Are there files on the Mac I should delete - which?
    Thanks.
     

Share This Page