OptiBay Macbook Pro 13"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SuperMiguel, Sep 5, 2010.

  1. SuperMiguel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #1
    So if i want to install another HD to my laptop i need to get an OptiBay?? whats the best place to get it?? also how will a a7200 rpm drive affect my battery life (my primary drive is an SSD)...

    Thanks
     
  2. DannySmurf macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #2
    The drive will suck much less power than the DVD drive does, but it will run much more often than the DVD drive, so it's probably a wash.
     
  3. MartyF81 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago IL
    #3
    The question is what are you planning on putting this drive. If all you are storing on there is Music, Pictures, etc.... you don't need 7200 RPM. If you are planning on booting Applications from it... then it might have value...

    But I would hope you are putting your Applications on your SSD for boot performance.
     
  4. MartyF81 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago IL
    #4
    Oh and I bought my Optibay from MCE Directly. Got it in the mail a couple of days later.
     
  5. SuperMiguel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #5
    since my ssd is a 80gb I need extta storage fkr my files, downloads, videos, etc

    So directly from mce is $99.00 right?
     
  6. MartyF81 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago IL
    #6
    Yes $99 plus tax and shipping. Call them to make sure it is in stock first. The site doesn't reflect back order status.

    If you are putting those things on the 2nd disc... you don't need 7200 RPM really. It is fine if you get one of course... but a 5400 will save you some $$ and will do just fine.
     
  7. SuperMiguel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #7
    1tb is fine? No problems with osx?
     
  8. MartyF81 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago IL
    #8
    That is the most it supports, is my understanding.
     
  9. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #9
    All 1TB laptop HDD's are 12.5mm high. The optibay only supports drives up to 9.5mm high. The maximum size HDD you could get is a 750GB. But, not all 750GB laptop HDD's are 9.5mm high. Some are 12.5mm high.
     
  10. SuperMiguel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #10
  11. SuperMiguel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
  12. DannySmurf macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #12
    Power consumption for 7200 vs 5400 depends a lot on the drive. Some drives have very similar consumption rates between the two speeds; some 7200 drives are much more power hungry. Just look up the drive you want on the manufacturer's (or retailer's) website and compare the power specs to the 5400 drive that is your second choice.
     
  13. lionheartednyhc macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #13
    Why would you need a 7200? Its useless for that setup. Just a waste of money and battery
     

Share This Page