Optibay now 6Gbps

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mac jones, May 2, 2012.

  1. mac jones, May 2, 2012
    Last edited: May 2, 2012

    mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #1
    Uh....ok :rolleyes:

    Just installed a Samsung 830 256gb in the place of the superdrive and it's negotiating now at 6gbs.

    Now, as some of you guys know, it never did this. It's link would be 6Gbps, but it's negotiated speed was SATA 2.

    This is in a last years early 2011 Macbook Pro 13" 2.3GHZ.

    At some point along the way the OS or firmware updates fixed this, I guess. (could they be preparing for a new model ;) )

    I wasn't even going to put a 6GBps drive in as it would be a waste, and that is why perhaps it isn't common knowledge at this point (although, of course some people must know :) )

    Just a heads up folks.


    here's a sloppy X-bench result (this is the Optibay drive)


    esults 476.27
    System Info
    Xbench Version 1.3
    System Version 10.7.3 (11D50)
    Physical RAM 16384 MB
    Model MacBookPro8,1
    Drive Type SAMSUNG SSD PM830 2.5" 7mm 256GB
    Disk Test 476.27
    Sequential 301.17
    Uncached Write 690.79 424.13 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Write 472.48 267.33 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    Uncached Read 121.85 35.66 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Read 661.89 332.66 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    Random 1137.80
    Uncached Write 1111.13 117.63 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Write 837.05 267.97 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    Uncached Read 2218.65 15.72 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Read 1030.75 191.26 MB/sec [256K blocks]

    So i'm guessing ALL of the recent MacBooks can do this now, as this is the lowest end Macbook Pro. Then again, it might be broken :D

    But the strange thing is, why would they do this? It most likely is not an accident, but a willful bug fix is NOT what it is, as these are not meant to swapped (at all). So either someone did it just for the enthusiast community, or they are preparing for a new Macbook with two drives

    The latter would be cool, and just maybe is the case.

    who knows.

    note: these Samsung things have odd write times. Faster than reads, which is strange :D
     
  2. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #2
    OWC reported that the early 2011 13" MacBook Pro had the best chance of working with the OWC Data Doubler in SATA III 6.0 Gbps with a SATA III SSD. The reported problems are commonly with the 2011 15" MacBook Pro and 17" MacBook Pro. I was planning on putting in a 750GB WD Scorpio Black in an OWC Data Doubler next week. I may hold off until I get my 512GB Samsung 830 back from testing and install it instead.
     
  3. EastcoastSix13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    #3
    Have always been getting sata3 speeds with my vertex 3 in the cheap ebay optibay in a late 2011 15" mbp since I bought it last september.
     
  4. mac jones thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #4
    Really, that far back? I knew it probably wasn't recent as I haven't checked it in a while and figured this already has been worked out. I just posted this just in case, as that was a bit of a bummer that it wouldn't work when it appeared to be able to, if corrected.

    BTW, i'm posting now, as I just tested this in a early 2011, 2.3ghz Mac Mini, and yes indeed, it's working here also. :)
     
  5. BanterClaus, May 7, 2012
    Last edited: May 7, 2012

    BanterClaus macrumors regular

    BanterClaus

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I have a SSD in the optibay. I wasn't aware of this? How can I check?

    Okay I stopped being a derp and remembered how to test...

    Mine seems no faster than the old 3Gbps???

    [​IMG]

    Also on Xbench


    Results 378.60
    System Info
    Xbench Version 1.3
    System Version 10.7.3 (11D50)
    Physical RAM 4096 MB
    Model MacBookPro8,1
    Drive Type OCZ-VERTEX3
    Disk Test 378.60
    Sequential 226.13
    Uncached Write 363.27 223.04 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Write 274.43 155.27 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    Uncached Read 111.74 32.70 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Read 426.78 214.50 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    Random 1162.28
    Uncached Write 1536.87 162.70 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Write 627.16 200.78 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    Uncached Read 3258.46 23.09 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Read 1124.31 208.62 MB/sec [256K blocks]

    I'm pretty sure these results are considerably lower that what I get if its in the normal bay. I can't be bothered to dismantle my MBP though and swap drives so I could be wrong.
     
  6. mac jones thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #6

    You can be sure by clicking: apple icon/about this mac/more info/system report/seial-ATA. Both drives will be listed and there will be two designations: Link speed (what the computers capable of), and the negotiated link speed (what it's actually doing).

    Perviously (i'm not sure how far back), it would link at 6gbps, but negotiate at only 3gbps. Then there was some sort of update in the last year and a half (i'm guessing here in the time), that fixed this to negotiate at the full 6 gbps.

    Don't know hat's happening with yours though.
     
  7. BanterClaus macrumors regular

    BanterClaus

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Okay, this is what system information is showing.

    SSD (In optibay)
    Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
    Negotiated Link Speed: 3 Gigabit

    HDD (In classic HDD area)
    Link Speed: 6 Gigabit
    Negotiated Link Speed: 3 Gigabit

    I really don't understand this. :confused:
     
  8. Supernew macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    #8
    optibay advice

    I am thinking in replacing my optic drive for one of the OWC DIY bundle with a 6G SSD. I am running a MacBook Pro 13" 2.3 GHz Intel Core i5 (early 2011). I also want to upgrade the memory to 16GB.

    So, do you think my MacBook Pro new drive run at 6G as mac_jones has reported?

    Can I use the new drive as a boot drive, I mean to run the OS and applications, etc, and let the HD only for storage? Will then my Mac run apps faster?

    Thanx in advance for the advice... will be reporting how it goes...
     
  9. mac jones thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #9
    Your machine has to be pre 2011, probably 2010 or 2009.

    You will not be able to run the OPTIBAY at 6gps. You could although, run the main hard drive at 6gps IF you SSD supports this (only and SSD, and one spec'd at 6gbps)

    ----------


    Yes, yes, and yes. You Mac will be much faster.
     
  10. Supernew macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    #10
    thank you for the quick reply mac_jones... will be back with the results :)
     

Share This Page