Optibay on 2011 Macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by doofoo, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. doofoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #1
    Does anyone know if it still fits? I have a new one in the box at home, wondering if it fits.

    Returning my i7 2.8 Macbook Pro 15" and replacing it with a 15" 2.2 Quad i7.
     
  2. skitzogreg macrumors 6502

    skitzogreg

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #2
    It's the same drive, so it should work. iFixit has a teardown of the new 2011 revision; try comparing the ripped out SuperDrive in the picture(s) with yours to make sure.
     
  3. Guy Mancuso macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #3
    I'm hoping it's the same . Find out soon enough. LOL
     
  4. doofoo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #4
    Yeah I'll give it a shot. I had purchased an i7 2.8Ghz a month ago with an Optibay, 120GB SSD and 8GB 1066 upgraded memory. I'm hoping I can swap the memory and optibay in from the i7 I am returning to the new 15"

    Should have the machine in a few days. I'll update this thread if no one else has by then.
     
  5. cruzngsocal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Location:
    SoCal
    #5
    Did the switch this morning, fits fine. There is one new cable over the superdrive but it does not impact the install.
     
  6. aznguyen316, Feb 25, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011

    aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #6
    Did it last night. A bit tougher than before only because the the speaker area was kind if tight instead of being able to move all the way out. The black speaker thing is also a little flatter or something. Anyway my caddy was ghetto in the first place and I had to shave off some black plastic to fit it again. Anyway it's the same size, easy. lol didn't mean to make that confusing I'll post pictures here soon.

    *edit* pictures

    attachment photo 3 shows in red approximately the screws or cables that need to be removed. The green square is what I meant that seemed to be "bigger" or thicker. Shouldn't be a problem though. Good luck, sorry for the craptastic pictures, did it in low light lol.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Corato macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #7
    DVD drive works, DVD Player does not

    Turns out the software I had from Optibay to enable DVD Player to work with external DVD is for version 5.3 and the Player is version 5.4 I sent inquiry to MCE Technologies on updated software. Anyone tested DVD Player running external?
     
  8. Knuck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #8
    I just installed mine on an early 2011 and DVD Player works fine.
     
  9. Corato macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #9
    Ran the MCE 5.3 software and it works fine with the 5.4 DVD Player
     

Share This Page