Optibay Sata1/2/3 ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by albertdros, Jul 4, 2012.

  1. albertdros macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #1
    So i want to put another hd in my mbp mid 2010. Was checking on amazon and found this:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/BrainyDeal-...6ZJ4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1341357862&sr=8-1

    however, someone says that this bay is sata 1 only. How exactly does this work and does this matter for my mbp mid 2010? Should i buy a better bay that supports higher sata speed?

    Im thinking of putting a Samsung Momentus XT 750GB next to my 120gb ssd stock drive.

    thanks for answers :)
     
  2. mattonthemoon macrumors regular

    mattonthemoon

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #2
    Not sure about the 2010, but the early 2011 15" and 17" could only handle a SATA II drive in the optical bay, even though it was spec'd at SATA III. The 13" could handle SATA III just fine.
     
  3. albertdros thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #3
    okay. Sata II is fine with me, but im actually talking about the alternatives to optibay. Since the optibay itself is not so cheap, and the one i was linking is only like 14 pounds BUT a user there says it only supports SATA 1, which is kinda slow i guess?

    Main question is: i want a cheap (like 25 dollar) alternative to optibay, but i guess it has to support sata II, or does that not really matter? Because then i will just buy the amazon one.
     
  4. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #4
    The mid 2010 MBP has SATA 2 on the optical drive interface. Check Mactracker (freeware).
     
  5. albertdros thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #5
    i know that, but is the bay working on sata 2 too, or is this a noob question :D? Is the bay only a placeholder for the hdd actually?
     
  6. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #6
    Ah, you were talking about the caddy, sorry...

    The caddy's just a pass-thru with no chipsets or anything, like a cable if you will. So it should work at whatever speed the drive you put in supports.
     
  7. albertdros thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #7
    ahhh ok thanks, yea thats helpfull. So i will just buy the cheap caddy one from amazon.
     

Share This Page