Optibay Superdrive not working!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PhelpsiPhan, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. PhelpsiPhan macrumors 6502

    PhelpsiPhan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    Hey guys, Just installed an MCE Optibay in my 13" mid 09 MBP and love it! 2 HD's in my 13, Love it!

    But the main reason i got it from MCE and not an El cheapo one is that it cam with a free external superdrive enclosure which i had heard were good quality.

    I plug it in, It powers up, it takes a disc, spins, but is not recognised on the computer. Not through the finder or through System profiler! I haver e-mailed MCE about it but want to know what you guys think aswell

    Thanks for any help

    Jon
     
  2. PhelpsiPhan thread starter macrumors 6502

    PhelpsiPhan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
  3. danetello macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    You may need to format the hard drive before your macbook will recognize it. You can do this through Disk Utility.
     
  4. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #4
    Reading comprehension is a good thing. It's his SuperDrive (optical) that's not working, not the hard drive.

    OP, I'd suggest calling MCE and seeing if they'll just send you a replacement case. Unless you're plugging something in wrong (either internally or externally), it's probably just bad. Warranty should cover that though.

    jW
     
  5. idea_hamster macrumors 65816

    idea_hamster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, or thereabouts
    #5
    Did you run that piece of software that MCE sends with the Optibay?

    Never used it, but IIRC, they include a small program that allows the Superdrive to be recognized by programs like Apple's DVD Player that generally won't work without an internal Superdrive.
     

Share This Page