Optical cable vs. A/V cables

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by jjholmes93, Jul 13, 2011.

  1. jjholmes93 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #1
    I have my ATV2 plugged into my TV via HDMI. My TV also has an optical audio output as does my stereo receiver. Is it possible to run an optical cable from my TV to the stereo to handle all the audio for devices that are plugged directly into my TV???
     
  2. Lumpy05 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Location:
    Bloomington, IN
    #2
    Yes it is preferable to take digital audio out from the tv rather than standard analog RCA. You can connect from the optical out on the TV to the optical input on the receiver.
     
  3. jjholmes93 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #3
    So if I use the optical cable from my tv to the stereo, that will provide audio for all my components that are plugged into my tv via HDMI?
     
  4. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #4
    Many (most?) televisions do not pass Dolby Digital which arrives via HDMI out their optical ports. If you want to hear Dolby Surround from your DVD/Blu-Ray/Apple TV/etc., you may need to connect those devices directly to your receiver.

    A.
     
  5. mchalebk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #5
    I assume you meant to say that your receiver has an optical audio input ( and not output, like the post implies). If so, this will work.

    This should work, though it would depend on the TV. The only issue would be that you probably wouldn’t get 5.1 surround. However, since you said “stereo receiver” (and not surround or 5.1), I assume you don’t care about that..
     
  6. jjholmes93 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #6
    I meant to say 5.1, but I only have 2 Bose speakers and not surround. But I believe there is a setting on my receiver for Dolby sound.
     
  7. diminiko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    London
  8. laurim macrumors 68000

    laurim

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota USA
    #8
    That's true. With my relatively new Samsung tv, I had to buy an optical switch to get 5.1 from my ATV AND my cable box because 5.1 won't pass through my tv through the optical port. Don't know why they would build a tv that way.
     
  9. kirsch92 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #9
    Legal BS.

    same reason DVDs have region codes. same reason HDMI has HDCP, etc.

    control, money, greed.
     
  10. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #10
    I used to have the TV as a "hub" but didn't want to have it turned on when just listening to music so now the AT2 goes into the receiver. Other than that it's good either way.
     

Share This Page