Optical Out ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by realitystops, Oct 28, 2011.

  1. realitystops macrumors regular

    realitystops

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    Very North
    #1
    Hello all,

    I have never mucked about with the sound side of a MacPro so when the thought of running iTunes through my hifi came to me I kinda stopped in my tracks as I had no idea how best to do it.

    I'm not a mega audiofile but do try to get the best out of anything i try.

    So, I understand the 'line out' into a split cable into the back of my 'amp', but.

    Am I right in thinking that the 'digital/optical out' on the back panel is there to feed some sort of digi-analogue (DAC)? converter and then to the amp.?

    If I am close, would some kind person put it plain english for me AND give a bit of help on where to get kit from in the UK

    There thats not much is it? ;-)

    Many thanks in advance

    RS
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    Something like long TOS cables (if your auto AMP supports optical inputs).

    Then you can go to System Preferences->Sound and choose the TOS port to turn the optical cable port on.
     
  3. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    No need for a converter, you just need an optical cable to the back of your receiver, provided it has an optical port as well. The DAC is integrated into the amp.
     
  4. realitystops thread starter macrumors regular

    realitystops

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    Very North
    #4
    no optical

    Thanks for the responses.

    Unfortunately my amp. is strictly phono plugged, I assume because it is either too old or that it was sold as a bundle with matching CD player and dab tuner.

    So the problem remains one of connection and maybe more kit??

    Any help is good help

    Sharkey;)
     
  5. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #5
    All you need is a new amp with optical in.

    There really isn't much of a reason to use it over the analog out otherwise. There also really isn't much of a reason to use it unless you're doing surround sound out.

    I've only used optical out on my Macbook Pro when playing back special 5.1 surround sound music disks on my amp.
     
  6. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #6
    Go to Radio Shack and get a 1/8" optical to split RCA. Works for me. NOt too concerned about quality as the internal sound card is not too awesome anyway.
     
  7. realitystops thread starter macrumors regular

    realitystops

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    Very North
  8. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #8
    Or you can get an external DAC and continue to use the integrated amp you already have. The analog outputs on the Mac Pro are only so-so quality wise.
     
  9. realitystops thread starter macrumors regular

    realitystops

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    Very North
    #9
    name a few

    Any suggestions as to make/type.

    I know the TEAC one is prohibitively expensive :(

    Thanks again
     
  10. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #10
    Budget?
     
  11. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #11
    Does your amp have a digital audio plug ? It's looks like an RCA jack but is only one jack. It will say digital audio in.

    If so you can get a Toslink to digital audio converter.
     

Share This Page