Optical out

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by harinezumi, May 17, 2007.

  1. harinezumi macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi everyone.

    Quite recently i started using a optical cable to link between my MBP and my stereo. The thing ive noticed is that when using the optical cable i cant change the volume using the keys at the top of the keyboard,nor through the system preferences. The only way to change the volume is by using the stereo or the application ie;itunes, dvd player.

    can anyone tell me if this is normal and how to overcome this.

    :)
     
  2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    thats how mine is on my iMac too, i'm guessing its normal, since its considered a "line out" so its set at one volume level. kinda annoying at times though.
     
  3. Stratification macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #3
    My guess would be that it is because it is a digital signal going over optical. In that context there's nothing that would carry the volume info to the stereo from the Mac, it's just straight digital music data.
     
  4. Pathetique macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    #4
    ding ding ding!

    Yeah, it's just sending zeros and ones. No analog electrical signal.
     
  5. harinezumi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    true!
    now that i think of it properly it makes sense.

    thanks everyone.;)
     
  6. ScottDrummer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    sorry to dig up an old topic, but what cable can be used to connect to the optical out on the mbp.
    I have an optical cable into my 5.1 sound system, the other end usually lives in my pls2 but the socket on the end is square, i cant imagine this fitting into the line out on the mpb. is there a different cable required? n.b. one of the end needs to be square as its a femal square socket on my 5.1 system

    TIA

    EDIT:
    ignore me, ive found some threads refering to mini toslink adapters and cables.
    is there any disadvantage using the toslink to minitoslink adapters?
    are they stable?
     

Share This Page