Optimal RAM speed for retina iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by kwijbo, Oct 20, 2014.

  1. kwijbo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    #1
  2. kendrickhphoto, Oct 20, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2014

    kendrickhphoto macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #2

    You should go with this Crucial RAM it is the cheapest and best at this point. The max speed the iMac recognizes is 1600 MHz. You can use higher if you find it but it will just show 1600 MHz.
     
  3. odedia macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #3
    Crucial recommends this particular model for the 27" Retina iMac, but I don't really see any difference in specs, do you?

    http://www.crucial.com/ProductDispl...=-1&langId=-1&storeId=10151&modelCatId=384006
     
  4. firsmith macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    #4
    Any thought to how much RAM I should be using? I upgrade the CPU and GPU, but left the RAM at 8GB for now. Is that enough to try it out and at least see what I think or should I order additional now?
     
  5. Wahlstrm macrumors 6502a

    Wahlstrm

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    #5
    Unless you are a "power user" running virtual machines, opening huge files in photoshop or stuff like that then 8GB should be sufficient for just about anything. :)
     
  6. firsmith macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    #6
    thanks, will wait then.

    Can you let me know what kinds of things I should look for that would tell me additional RAM would help, verse just the speed the computer is going to run at with the CPU/GPU it has?
     
  7. kendrickhphoto macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #7
  8. kwijbo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    #8
    Thanks. If I remember correct, back when I had my 2011 Mini it could address higher memory so I thought there was maybe a chance this would as well.

    Although, I am still curious of the G.Skill memory I linked to earlier as it has CL 9 vs the CL 11 of the Crucial.
     
  9. kendrickhphoto macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #9
    You could always try it out and return it if it doesn't work or you don't see any performance gains vs the cheaper 1600 MHz.
     
  10. Wahlstrm macrumors 6502a

    Wahlstrm

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    #10
    Since osx 10.9 The handeling of memory is great in osx, just open "the icon with The hart rate monitor" (don't Know The appname in english) and check The memory usage.. If it's red then you Know you need more, if it's Green then your fine :)
     
  11. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #11
    Thank you very much for confirming this and letting us know. Much appreciated!

    I'm going to go ahead and order 32 GB through Amazon now before the great pricing possibly disappears.

    Bryan
     
  12. odedia macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #12
    Awesome! Thanks for the tip! I've just contacted Crucial as well and they confirmed it's the same RAM module. So you can get 32gb for the new iMac for juts 273$!
     
  13. kendrickhphoto macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #13
    Yeah mine has been sitting here since Sunday, just waiting for the iMac to ship now so I can put it in there.
     
  14. firsmith macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    #14
    Gracias!!
    :)
     

Share This Page