Optimizing the network connection

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by eyoungren, Mar 4, 2017.

  1. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #1
    Many years ago I was dealing with SMB1/CIFS connections at work (still am) and I had some time so I decided to see if I could optimize the connection to our server to make transfers faster and speed up how quickly QuarkXPress/InDesign loaded files on our server.

    I found a few commands and I believe I posted them in an Applescript thread here already. Yesterday it occured to me that my MacPro was not loading those commands and having had some recent difficulty with a misbehaving share on the server taking down the entire connection from Finder I revisited this.

    The app that I had made under Leopard using these commands was PowerPC, so I had to reopen the app and save out a new app from Script editor. Of course, one of the commands is deprecated or non-existant in Yosemite, so I had to do a Google search to find the equivalent.

    I didn't find one, but I did find someone who had made a larger series of commands that seriously improved their connection. It seem to help the Mac Pro, so when I got home I made a new app for my Quad to use. All of the commands I was using on the MP worked under Leopard on the Quad.

    It will be interesting to try them on my PowerBook and see what happens, but I haven't gotten around to it yet.

    I'm going to share them here. Just copy and paste in to Script Editor and compile.

    Change the username that is in quotes to your current logged in username and the password that is in quotes to your current password (of the logged in user). Save as an app and place it somewhere, then add it to your login items.

    As always, I am not responsible for anything that happens. But if something does happen, just reboot. These commands are not permanent. They have to be done every time you reboot.

    I'd be interested to know if they work on Tiger and if they do help you at all, please let me know!

    Code:
    do shell script "sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.delayed_ack=2" user name "username" password "password" with administrator privileges
    do shell script "sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.mssdflt=1440" user name "username" password "password" with administrator privileges
    do shell script "sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.sendspace=524288" user name "username" password "password" with administrator privileges
    do shell script "sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.recvspace=524288" user name "username" password "password" with administrator privileges
    do shell script "sysctl -w net.inet.udp.maxdgram=57344" user name "username" password "password" with administrator privileges
    do shell script "sysctl -w kern.maxproc=2048" user name "username" password "password" with administrator privileges
    do shell script "sysctl -w kern.maxprocperuid=512" user name "username" password "password" with administrator privileges
    do shell script "sysctl -w kern.ipc.maxsockbuf=2097152" user name "username" password "password" with administrator privileges
    do shell script "sysctl -w kern.ipc.somaxconn=1024" user name "username" password "password" with administrator privileges
    do shell script "sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.rfc1323=1" user name "username" password "password" with administrator privileges
    do shell script "sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.always_keepalive=1" user name "username" password "password" with administrator privileges
    do shell script "sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.keepintvl=150" user name "username" password "password" with administrator privileges
    do shell script "sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.slowstart_flightsize=4" user name "username" password "password" with administrator privileges
    do shell script "sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.strict_rfc1948=1" user name "username" password "password" with administrator privileges
    do shell script "sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.rfc1644=1" user name "username" password "password" with administrator privileges
    do shell script "sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.newreno=1" user name "username" password "password" with administrator privileges
     
  2. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    Seems to be working fairly well on my PowerBook!
     
  3. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #3
    I made it into an app which prompts you for your password and just does a basic 'whoami' to get the logged in user.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    Nice. Is it helping at all?
     
  5. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #5
    I actually didn't use it but I will now! Some stuff needs to be modified for sierra.
     
  6. amagichnich macrumors regular

    amagichnich

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    #6
    I did apply them on my iBook - hard to tell if there's any difference. But now as I know that there are tweaked some things it feels faster, but that could as well be placebo :D
    Is there any noticable difference to be expected on PPC?

    Attached is the 'whoami' thing compiled for PPC... Just in case there it changes anything... :D
     

    Attached Files:

  7. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #7
    I don't think the difference is huge, in the sense that by applying them you turn your Mac into an 8 core 16Ghz super computer.

    It's more little things. File copying quicker, a faster connection to a network share, maybe a somewhat faster download. Things like that.
     
  8. amagichnich macrumors regular

    amagichnich

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    #8
    Haha lucky me that I didn't expect that much of a change :D

    iStatMenus shows a peak bandwith of 4.9MB/s incoming via Airport - before the maximum was 2.1MB/s. But doubling the Airport connection speed can't be within the range of possible changes, that has to be accidental, right?
    (iBook, Airport Extreme, 100.000 DSL)
     

Share This Page