Option to download McAfee with VMware Fusion 6: yes or no?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Broadus, Oct 29, 2013.

  1. Broadus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #1
    Leaving PC's after 25-plus years for a refurbished rMBP, I bought and started to download VMware Fusion 6. Right off the bat is an option to download Fusion with or without McAfee antivirus, a 12-month complimentary subscription.

    Would you download McAfee, use something else, or nothing at all?

    Thanks.
     
  2. parapup macrumors 65816

    parapup

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    No. Avoid that crap at all costs. Most Windows versions can now use Microsoft Security Essentials which is a free, decent AntiVirus. (Windows 8 has it built in - free download for other Windows versions.) That, and if you are a bit careful you will not need anything more.
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    ^^
    This

    I upgraded to Fusion 6 and didn't take the bait
     
  4. Broadus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #4
    Thanks, guys. I didn't know that about Windows 8. That's what I'll be using.

    Besides, a fellow Dawgs fan wouldn't steer me wrong. ;)
     
  5. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  6. OnceYouGoMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Location:
    In front of my Mac
    #6
    No. McAfee is a pile of crap. Even John McAfee himself doesn't use it. Type in "how to uninstall mcafee antivirus" into Youtube and you'll see what I mean ;)
     
  7. badaz06 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    #7
    Yeah....trust the guys that write the software code that's vulnerable to infection, to write the software code that prevents you from being infected.
     
  8. ivnj macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    #8
    Why would you invent something if you're never going to use it. And if its's crap then make it better.
     
  9. OnceYouGoMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Location:
    In front of my Mac
    #9
    You haven't seen this Youtube video, have you? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bKgf5PaBzyg

    It explains all :D
     
  10. tigo132 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    #10
    Not sure why you would go for McAfee.
    But if you need a anti-virus program, i would recommend AVG. It´s free and does the job. :cool:
     
  11. Broadus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #11
    The only reason I raised the question was because it was an option in the VMWare Fusion installation. Having researched some, I don't think I will need an antivirus app for the way I will use Windows.
     
  12. dyn macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #12
    I do download that version because it holds all the VMware Tools for the various operating systems. I simply do not use the "Install McAffee" option at all. You can also delete the .iso from the VMware Fusion package. Locate Fusion in /Applications, rightclick and select "Show pkg contents", go to Contents/Library/isoimages and delete antivirus.iso (or insert your own .iso..no idea if that works).
     

Share This Page