Optional Data Plan??

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by johnryjr, Jun 16, 2008.

1. johnryjr macrumors regular

They have updated the page on AT&T's website for the 3G iPhone. I really want the phone but being a college student, I cannot really affored a $70/month phone bill. I would purchase the iPhone if I could just have the voice plan and just use wifi. Since I do not have a data plan now, I can't really miss what I don't have. I would prefer the data, but it is a little much.

Anyway it states this on the AT&T site:

Now, I would interpret this as the data plan being optional. How about you?

http://www.wireless.att.com/cell-ph...?wtSlotClick=1-0013IS-0-1&WT.svl=calltoaction

Thanks, John

2. johnryjr thread starter macrumors regular

3. tritonj macrumors 6502a

it is neither here nor there, it doesn't explicitly state it either way, and i doubt there will be any real clarification, i think this is one we will have to wait to launch to find out. those press releases are gone over with fine tooth combs, so there isn't going to be a mistake in them when they are released. so it is apparent to me that they want to keep this part ambiguous for the time being.

only says rate plan, which means it could be either voice only or voice + data

maybe they just haven't decided yet?

4. aross99 macrumors 68000

aross99

I hope they offer this option, but I suspect AT&T is basing their subsidy on you buying a monthly data plan.

Even if you can get away without a plan, it will be crucial to make sure you can't ACCIDENTLY get on the GSM network. Most phones have the pay-as-you-go plan for internet if you don't have a data plan.

I hope the 3G iPhone has an option to turn off the data w/o turning off WiFI, texting, and voice...

5. SleepyHead157 macrumors regular