Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MBHockey

macrumors 601
Original poster
Oct 4, 2003
Connecticut
Hi all,

I am a pretty novice photographer and editor. It's just a hobby. But i have been stuck for the last several months with a backlog of photos from several trips to edit because I cannot figure out a good system for editing my photos.

All I want is a program that I can use to have the same photo library between two Macs (iMac and MacBook Pro), edit on both computers, and have the same edits shared between the two computers with a robust editor.

I shoot with a Sony Alpha-6500 mirrorless, and had been using Lightroom 6 standalone app (which i LOVED) but since they moved to the more mobile-friendly version of Lightroom, i don't like it nearly as much (I also acquired a MBP for editing in addition to my iMac, which presented itself with the issue of dealing with multiple libraries). That version has cloud syncing of edits, but i found the 'dumbed down' interface is awful.

I tried Luminar, and while I like editing with it, the lack of a DAM until this week was a dealbreaker. Now that it's out, and it's filled with bugs and I'm unable to have 1 master library in the cloud syncing edits between them, I feel like I'm back at square 1.

All I really wanted was Lightroom 6 (without CC) that could have a cloud-sync'd library.

Is there something like that out there that i'm just not aware of? Should I just suck it up and stop holding out for something like this, and use Lightroom with its new UI?

r.harris1

macrumors 68020
Feb 20, 2012
Denver, Colorado, USA
Hi all,

I am a pretty novice photographer and editor. It's just a hobby. But i have been stuck for the last several months with a backlog of photos from several trips to edit because I cannot figure out a good system for editing my photos.