Oracle, PHP and SQL manipulation

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by kolax, Feb 25, 2009.

1. kolax macrumors G3

kolax

Hello,

I'm producing a website as part of a uni project that will hold a load of recipes, and allow users to search for them. The database is hosted using Oracle and I have some basic PHP code to help me connect to it:

<?php
    if ($c=ora_logon("username@orcl","password")) {
    echo "Successfully connected to Oracle.n";
    ora_commitoff($c);
    ora_logoff($c);
    } else {
    echo "Oracle Connect Error " . ora_error();
    }
    ?>

This works - and connects. But I need some guidance in how I take what is put into the search box and turn that into an SQL query, then display the results.

As I have little PHP experience - do I declare the search box as a global variable? Can I use that variable in an SQL query?

Also, after each query, do I disconnect from the database?

2. Trajectory macrumors 6502a

3. kolax thread starter macrumors G3

kolax

Thanks for reply.

I checked out the links and looked into forms and while the syntax is confusing, I understand the logic.

Now to get to basics - all I want to do is to list everything that is stored within the database in a table. No forms - just an actual SQL query (SELECT * FROM). I found some code that should do this, however I can't get it to work. Obviously, this is using MySQL which I can't use, it needs to be Oracle. But I'm guessing there is a similar statement that takes advantage of Oracle?

Code:
    <?php
       $c=OCILogon("user", "password1", "orcl");
       if ( ! $c ) {
         echo "Unable to connect: " . var_dump( OCIError() );
         die();
       }

mysql_query("SELECT * FROM recipe");

?>
    Top line connects to Oracle, and then the mysql_query should grab all entries from the database.

However, I can't find anything that is that simple to use as an Oracle command.

I want to keep it a very simple right now.

4. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000