MP 1,1-5,1 Orange lights from graphics card or otherwise inside MacPro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by machenryr, Jul 24, 2019.

  1. machenryr macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #1
    I’ve had serious MacPro problems for sometime. Just search my name here and you’ll see a lot of problems. As always, I’m trying track them down. I’m on Mojave, SSD on a PCIe blade. MacPro5,1 3.46gz from a 2009 2.28.

    Right now things kind of work generally, but some audio applications are wack.

    I’ve noticed that after upgrading to Mojave, and the graphic card, I see orange lights shooting from inside the computer. Looks like a war. The Mac is in the back so I don’t notice it, until I have to pull it out and open it up. Now I look for it. It seems like it’s more problematic closer to boot up.

    Any idea what this could be? Has anyone seen this? I’m I going to start a fire? Normally I leave the MacPros on 24/7 but now I’m shutting it down for the evening.
     
  2. MIKX, Jul 24, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2019

    MIKX macrumors 65816

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
  3. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #3
    Make a video of this with your phone, post it on YouTube and then put a link in this thread.
     
  4. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #4
    You don't have a Kyro M.2 card, do you? That has a bright array of orange LEDs on it that flash like a spaceship on any drive access. I kind of like it myself, but it is pretty distracting in a dark room.

    If that's what it is, there's a hardware switch on the card to turn off the LEDs.
     
  5. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    I was suspecting the exact same thing...
     
  6. machenryr thread starter macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #6
    Of course I flashed it a few times. I upgraded it to 5,1. In my signature it indicates two MacPros, almost identical. Both 5,1. One started out as 2.8 and the other 2.33, I think. This I’ve in early 2009 and the other mid 2010. Bug I upgraded both.

    I can take a video and post it, tomorrow. I’m tired tonight.
     
  7. machenryr thread starter macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
  8. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
  9. machenryr thread starter macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #9
    The kyro M.2 is exactly the card I have. Thank you. That eliminates one problem. Thank you!
     
  10. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #10
    This is the tiny switch you'll need to set...
    Screen Shot 2019-07-24 at 7.17.37 PM.png
     
  11. machenryr thread starter macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #11
    Cool. Now that I’m know what it is it probably won’t bother me. I just didn’t want to burn down the house. Thank you. Now I know! The thing is I put the sane blade in my other Mac and haven’t noticed the lights. But it’s by the window and maybe the switch was switched.
     

Share This Page

10 July 24, 2019