Orange uk connectivity

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Tebailey, May 28, 2010.

  1. Tebailey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    #1
    Got my iPad yesterday and called orange and registered...

    Seem to be on network with good reception but if I try to connect I get that I am not registered on cellular network....

    Orange very friendly but no help?.. Have tried resets of hardware & network connections.. Have done a restore in iTunes and still the same...

    Any thoughts?

    Tom
     
  2. Beniharna macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #2
    I'm in exactly the same situation. I had a full bar of orange as soon as I turned it on yesterday, and before I rang them to activate.

    I only got around to ringing them today and was told that it would take up to 24 hours to switch on, so that may explain it.

    I did, though, read somewhere earlier today (I forget where) that their iPad activation gateway may not be up and running.

    Has anyone succeeded in getting 3G connection with Orange?
     
  3. Loopy65 macrumors 6502a

    Loopy65

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #3
    Hideous experience here .. was told by Orange person that all iPad activations are going to referral! .. they couldn't give me a reason why and just said I will receive a phone call within 72 hours!! ..

    When my three sim arrives will try that .. and if it's rubbish I'll go back to O2 as I've read they can be activated ONLINE!!! wooo hoooo!!!

    Loopy
     
  4. G.O.B macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    #4
    I went into an Orange store today (sick of waiting for my microSIMs from all the networks to be delivered). Filled in some forms, did the credit check, got the microSIM and I was out of there in about 15 minutes.

    Popped the microSIM in the iPad, reset the hardware and I was away. All I can say is to those who haven't yet ordered one / are still waiting for their microSIM to arrive, consider going into your local store (being in a student town right now, mine was only 2 minutes walk away)
     
  5. gazzzmoly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #5
    Change the apn settings. Apn= orangeinternet. No rename or password. Restart the device and it work. Promise. :).
     
  6. wrkactjob macrumors 65816

    wrkactjob

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #6
    The phone companies have to enlist you on the national database run by Experian, its important they know at least your address and date of birth so that you can be tracked.

    This helps with our fight on terrorism so please understand that.

    O2 are being pressured by government departments to also collate information so others can be added to the Experian database and terrorists plans can be thwarted before any potential impact on the public.

    Experian currently has the largest unregulated database of public members in the UK.
     
  7. Loopy65 macrumors 6502a

    Loopy65

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #7
    I have an account with Experian so IMO that should have speeded the process up!??!
    In the end I have gone onto my hubbies account in order to get on line. Still looking forward to a different SIMM!!!!!
     
  8. Beniharna macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #8
    Perfect, thank you very much.
    I was missing the restart, which has now done the trick.. Why they shipped with orangedata as the APN I don't know.
     
  9. Sin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Not London
    #9
    Mine is on "orangedata" and works just fine. It took about 20 minutes to kick in after I registered - kept dropping off the network before it finally seemed to "stick".
     
  10. gazwas macrumors member

    gazwas

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    orangeinternet works, thanks!

    My APN was blank?? :confused:

    Thanks for the tip, all working fine now and saved my a call to the clueless helpdesk. :)
     

Share This Page