Orbi vs AirPort Extreme Experience and request for help

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by MontyC, May 9, 2017.

  1. MontyC, May 9, 2017
    Last edited: May 9, 2017

    MontyC macrumors member

    MontyC

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    London Uk
    #1
    Hi. I recently got 1GB fibre to the premises service (yay). Until recently, I had a FTTC service (theoretically 76 Mbps service but in reality was getting ~ 30 Mbps) and my wifi network consisted of two Airport Extremes (6th gen) connected by 1GB Poweline adapters set to create networks with same name and passwords. Although we live in a 2 bedroom apartment the walls are very thick and just one Extreme wasn't providing coverage throughout.

    What I found out with the new 1GB service was that wifi speed using these Airport units was OK with my previous ISP speeds but not so with this new services; speeds over wifi were slow and patchy. Some areas I was getting 150 Mbps in others 20 or less. After some research I bought a pair of Netgear Orbi RBR50 units.

    Set up was OK, a little fiddly but manageable. Once the link between the units was established, I was getting good wifi coverage and speeds. I can now achieve 400 Mbps when in the same area as either the base unit or the satellite (compared to ~ 150 with Extremes) and in the worst corner of the flat now achieving 50 Mbps (was getting ~ 15 with Airport Extremes).

    What I can not figure out is this: I am seeing a significant drop in speed between when I connect the ISP cable directly in my Mac (which I can; no router is needed to connect to service) versus going through the Orbi (or ISP provided router):

    Test 1: Ethernet Cat6 from wall to laptop - no routers: download speed ~800, Upload speed ~880

    Test 2: Ethernet Cat6 from wall to ISP router -> Cat6 from ISP router to laptop: download speed ~500, Upload speed ~700

    Test 3: Ethernet Cat6 from wall to ISP router -> Cat6 from ISP router to Orbi router -> Cat6 from Orbi to laptop: download speed ~500, Upload speed ~700

    Test 4: Ethernet Cat6 from wall to Orbi router -> Cat6 from Orbi to laptop: download speed ~500, Upload speed ~700

    I have spoken to both ISP and Orbi; no answers (Orbi support recommended changing MTU setting from 1500 to 1450. This has not made an impact).

    Only reason to use the ISP router (not broadcasting wifi) in addition to Orbi is that I get VOIP telephone service which plugs into ISP router.

    Any insight as to why there would be such a drop in speed between going via either router rather than direct (all with Ethernet Cat6 cables)?

    I know "just" 500 Mbps is blazing fast and many would be very happy with that but I am paying for 1GB and getting half and I need to figure out why :)

    If you're thinking about the Orbi router, they are expensive but so far, proved their effectiveness and reliability (2 weeks in). No regrets.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #2
    Is the Orbi not rated for gigabit throughput with firewall, NAT, and routing? I cannot seem to find the specs for it in relation to that.

    If you have two computers, can you connect one to the WAN and another to the LAN and run an iperf test between them?
     
  3. MontyC thread starter macrumors member

    MontyC

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    London Uk
    #3
    Attached is what I have for specs (not sure if they provide the detail you were asking about).

    I do have 2 laptops; I will try the iperf and see what it shows.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #4
    The iperf test will tell us if the router is able to allow full gigabit transfers. For example, enabling QoS on my router drops my 100Mb connection down to 60Mb. Some routers support gigabit, but not bidirectionally (i.e. gigabit both directions at the same time, which means 2Gb throughput in the router).
     
  5. MontyC thread starter macrumors member

    MontyC

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    London Uk
    #5
    Second hard reset of Orbi seems to work. Now getting 850 Mbps Ethernet connected to back of main Orbi and 650 Ethernet at Satellite. Wifi hitting 500.
     
  6. dobro03 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    #6

    Are you having any problems with dropouts? Also, what OS are you using and all Apple wifi devices?

    Thank you.
     
  7. MontyC thread starter macrumors member

    MontyC

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    London Uk
    #7
    Hi. No dropout issues. I have a couple of laptops (Apple, latest macOS), iPads and iPhones; friends with Android phones didn't report issues when visiting. In other words, things seem to be working and stable for me.

    One thing to add, I tried BT WholeHome Wi-Fi system before my Orbi return window ended and there is no question, the throughput on Orbi is superior.
     
  8. dobro03 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    #8
    Thanks. I've read reports where lots of folks were having major dropout problems with the Orbi and Apple devices. Is there a way to hook up a wired printer on an Orbi? Right now, I just hook the printer up to the USB port on the Airport Extreme and everyone in the house and studio can use the printer on the network going wireless. The Orbi USB port won't do this.
     
  9. Primejimbo macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #9
    I just got the Orbi and no drop outs. The part that made me mad is the USB port is disabled on it. I was going to use that for my time capsule back ups. I was not happy about that.
     
  10. MontyC thread starter macrumors member

    MontyC

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    London Uk
    #10
    I believe latest firmware update activated USB port but have not tested.
     
  11. Primejimbo macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #11
    I am on the latest firmware update, and it doesn't work. So far my wife and daughter got dropped off since I posted the last post (iPhone and iPad). I was also messing with settings so I will see how it goes.

    I am still on the fence with this, and a part of me wishes I just got 2 Apple Airports (would have been the same price, and the USB ports actually work).
     

Share This Page