Ordered 8Gb of RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by WRXiceman, May 28, 2012.

  1. WRXiceman macrumors 6502

    WRXiceman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    England, UK
    #1
    Hello,

    I've recently ordered 8Gb of RAM for my Early 2011 MacBook Pro.
    Should hopefully be arriving tomorrow.
    Just wondering if there's anything problematic that I could possibly run into? Or is it just a simply process of switching the machine off, removing bottom plate and switching old RAM with new?

    Should compliment my recent SSD upgrade nicely :)

    Thanks
     
  2. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #2
    Well its very simple task.
    All you really have to be careful is the static.
    It can fry your logic board and others.
     
  3. jamin00 macrumors 6502

    jamin00

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Location:
    Essex, UK.
    #3
    I have not got a clue when it comes to this stuff and only recently converted to a MBP and all I did was follow this and a vid of youtube :)

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1270?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

    Not even 10 mins work ;)

    Turn off, take off back, earth yourself, take out memory, put new in, put back back on, turn on and check "About this Mac" to make sure its recognised the new memory. Viola, welcome to the world of 8gb of Ram
     
  4. ron1004 macrumors 6502

    ron1004

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    #4
    Really quick and easy - going with the 8GB Samsung 1600mHz RAM made a major improvement running Parallels 7 and Windows 7.
     
  5. user418 macrumors 6502a

    user418

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    #5

    A word of caution. Be careful with the little tabs on each side that hold the RAM in placbe. It's important not to break one when removing the old RAM and make sure they click in place in the little notches when you seat the new RAM. Just take your time and you should be fine.
     
  6. WRXiceman thread starter macrumors 6502

    WRXiceman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    England, UK
    #7
    Just installed it without any issues. All seems great right now. My MacBook Pro that was once a beast, is now even more of a beast.

    Thanks guys :D
     
  7. mdhansen5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #8
    Yep, follow this guide or find a YouTube video to watch. It's a really easy procedure and you'll love having 8GB of RAM. It probably took me a total of 10 minutes, at the most. When I upgraded mine, I did one extra step of resetting the PRAM. It's probably a smart thing to do when switching the RAM, just to be safe. Just hold down CMD+OPTION+P+R right after you press the power button, and then let it go after the screen goes black, after you hear the boot chime. It won't delete anything, and you won't notice anything different.
     
  8. ivoruest macrumors 6502

    ivoruest

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Guatemala
    #9
    Just make sure you discharged all of the static in your body! Otherwise that will be a big problem.
     

Share This Page