Ordered a 24" iMac! specs inside :)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MFKitten, Sep 10, 2008.

  1. MFKitten macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Lillehammer, Norway
    #1
    i´m really excited about this! :)

    the specs are:

    24" iMac
    -2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    -4GB memory
    -500GB hard drive
    -8x double-layer SuperDrive
    -ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO with 256MB
    -Logic Express 8 pre-installed

    i´m using this mainly for music production, so i´m really looking forwards to getting it! just gotta filter all the stuff i need from my eMac and sell it, so i can buy myself a new bass guitar :p
     
  2. Quocy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    #2
    did you order it today?
    i ordered my iMac today!

    here are the following spec:
    - 24" iMac
    - 3.06ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
    - 1TB Hard Drive
    - 4GB Ram
    - 8x double-layer SuperDrive
    - NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GS with 512MB

    comes next week! :)
     
  3. bflowers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #3
    I think I would have saved on the ram, and gone for the 1 TB hard drive. you can same a fortune by getting your ram elsewhere. I like datamem, but almost anywhere is better than paying Apple's price for the ram.
     
  4. czachorski macrumors 6502a

    czachorski

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #4
    You can save, but I am not sure it's a fortune - maybe you can save $100-$150. The upgrade to the 4GB of Apple ram is $200 on the iMac. Higher than 3r party, but not a fortune.
     
  5. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #5
    Welcome to Mac family both of you. Glad to see you got over that case of Windows. :)
     
  6. MFKitten thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Lillehammer, Norway
    #6
    I´ve been in the family for three years already, actually. i have an eMac :)

    i decided to go mac when i studied Media and Communications, and all they had were macs. i was in love, and so i decided that i didn´t need a pc! :D

    the only thing i´ve really used a pc for that i couldn´t do on a mac was gaming, and now that i´ve been without it, i don´t really miss it. i wanna get Spore, though, but since that´s available for mac, that´s not a problem! :D

    also, i´d rather get RAM pre-installed than buy extra ram and upgrade it myself. i´m lazy like that :p
     
  7. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #7
    I just bought my parents and sister the same spec machine as the OP. I havent got to see it yet cause I work in another country : / They love it though and fight over who gets to use it (and with windows, only my sister used the computer).

    Its a great machine and you will love your switch to mac.
     
  8. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #8
    With bootcamp you can do windows gaming too! Thats what I do. I boot into windows via bootcamp when I want to play Portal or Assassins Creed or whatever I feel like playing.

    If I want to use visual studio and I need mac OS as well I just open up a virtual machine (VMWare) and have one screen my windows and the other screen my mac :)
     
  9. Quocy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    #9
    i got my first mac (macbook pro) in 2006, but the my desktop computer i'm using now is a PC! i just wanted an iMac to replace this piece of crap! also i'll be doing alot of univeristy work on the computer... and i really don't trust windows, you never know whats going to happen! i.e. random restarts, "program is not responding" all the crap you would get from WINDOWS!

    btw about the ram prices i checked...
    it was £80 ($160) for the ram from apple including the higher education discount
    from crucial it was £65 ($130)
    so i thought i might as well get it done by apple and save me the trouble of ordering it and installing it myself :) only a £15 difference!
     
  10. Nicholie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Huntsville, Al
    #10
    I'm in the market for a iMac soon, but I'm doing the terrible and torturous thing of holding off till MacWorld. Mostly due to my budget not quite fitting the current lineup of iMac's and there hardware.

    Happy New iMac to both of you though.
     
  11. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #11
    I'm looking at Spore myself kinda curious about it. But I'm not much of a gamer so I think I would be lost. I do play some games on my iPhone just got Spore which is cool for a non-gamer. Sorry for going off topic. :)
     
  12. Munitalp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    #12
    In the education store you can get it for $180, which makes it nearly the same as elsewhere too.
     
  13. yellowcanary73 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    McKinney,Texas
    #13
    Congrats we just ordered our first IMac today haven't had one since my wife worked for them when the first MacIntosh came out.So it will be a big change for us but change is good.She even went for the bigger system so we ordered the 3.06.:D


    PROCESSOR 065-7741 3.06GHZ INTEL CORE 2 DUO
    MEMORY 065-7650 2GB 800MHZ DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
    GRAPHICS 065-7738 NVIDIA GEFORCE 8800 GS W/512MB
    HARD DRIVE 065-7653 500GB SERIAL ATA DRIVE
    MOUSE (FOR AOS) 065-7660 APPLE WIRELESSS MIGHTY MOUSE
    APPLE KEYBOARD & USER'S GUIDE 065-7667 WL KYBD & USER'S GUIDE
    COUNTRY KIT 065-7670 COUNTRY KIT,IMAC 24
     
  14. Quocy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    #14
    your wife use to work for apple?
    i can't wait for my iMac to come, its gonna be "screaming" fast as steve jobs would say :) :apple:
     
  15. Mike in Kansas macrumors 6502a

    Mike in Kansas

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Metro Kansas City
    #15
    The "real" cost of Apple-installed RAM

    Don't forget, when Apple charges you to upgrade the memory from 1GB or 2GB to 4GB, they also keep your old RAM. When you do it yourself, you get to keep your old RAM which allows you to recoup your costs by selling it.

    I bought two 2GB DDR2 800 Kingston RAM sticks for my iMac from Newegg for ~85.00. I installed them in two minutes, then sold my 1GB "pulls" on eBay for $40, recouping almost half my cost. So my total cost to upgrade my memory from 2BG to 4GB was $45 plus a half hour of my time.
     
  16. MFKitten thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Lillehammer, Norway
    #16
    Now i just need to sell my eMac :p

    what is an eMac worth today?

    17" crt, 1GB ram, 160 GB HDD, upgraded with Airport Extreme.

    what should i sell it for? it´s got Tiger, and it´s 3 years old (last run of eMacs)
     

Share This Page