Ordering 4S with family members upgrade?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by sou1 so1di3r, Oct 11, 2011.

  1. sou1 so1di3r macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #1
    Ok all I have a question:

    I am wanting to order a 4S, using my moms upgrade, get the phone and then give her my iPhone 4. She is currently using a 3GS.

    How does the whole switching of the numbers and stuff work?

    I'm in London until early November, but I want to be able to get the phone from home in the 3 days I am back before going back to school for winter term.

    If I have her order the 4S through the apple site, will she just be able to use her 3GS until I get home? Like ordering the phone won't affect her having to swap numbers to a new microSIM or anything? or does it automatically come pre-loaded with your new number since she will be ordering it using her line?

    Any answers would be helpful! :cool:
     
  2. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #2
    Her phone won't stop working until the phone is activated via iTunes.
     
  3. sou1 so1di3r thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #3
    awesome! so if she just leaves it in the box I can just set her all up when I get home?! Sweet!:D:D
     
  4. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #4
    That's at least how it worked on AT&T. I ordered at a store, and my phone didn't stop working until I activated the iPhone at home. It might be different now, but I doubt it.
     
  5. sou1 so1di3r thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #5
    Ok well I would be ordering through AT&T so hopefully this is true!!
     
  6. NorfolkMustard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    I wouldn't be so sure. Check with your phone company, ask when they'll be switching the contract from the miniSIM to MicroSIM
     
  7. sou1 so1di3r thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #7
    dammit why does it have to be so hard! lol. I thought my plan was genius. I don't want to call back to America its gonna be a waste of my time and money lol
     

Share This Page