Ordering a GT120

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by peskaa, Mar 17, 2009.

  1. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    I have a 2008 Mac Pro, and will be upgrading to the 4870 once Apple ship the cards. However, I'll be running a triple-head setup and as such need a second card to go in to power the third display.

    Firstly, can the GT 120 run in the 2008 Mac Pro? I think it can, and as it is bus-powered card I wouldn't need any more feeds off the motherboard.

    Secondly, is it possible to order one from Apple? They *have* to sell them surely for Mac Pro owners who need extra cards?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  3. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #3
    i think i read that someone did use one with some success. not sure if it was 100% though
     
  4. peskaa thread starter macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    Don't know where you're getting your information from that you post so assertively, without checking the actual facts:
    http://blog.macsales.com/602-testing-those-new-graphics-cards

    OWC have already popped a GT 120 into a 2008 Mac Pro and it worked perfectly.


    Mac Pro ‘800MHz Memory Bus Models:
    ———-
    4870 - Works A-OK via its DVI port. No-go via the miniDisplay Port.

    GT120 - Works like a champ with both DisplayPort and DVI Port.




    So back to the topic. How do you get hold of one?
     
  5. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #5
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC002ZM/A?mco=MzE2OTkyOA
     
  6. peskaa thread starter macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
  7. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #7
    Well I first saw it the day after the Pros came out.
     
  8. TrapOx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
    #8
    He guesses most of the time.
     
  9. applesuauce1111 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #9
    Is it possible to have a 4870 + a GT120 in the mac pro 2009?
     
  10. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #10
    Yes, but there are problems, related to mix company drivers in windows Vista.

    Order it with the ATI card and buy a 120 separately and install it yourself.
     
  11. peskaa thread starter macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #11
    Hm, the question is how much of an ass is Vista going to be about such mixed cards? I can live with having to disable one in Device Manager...
     
  12. applesuauce1111 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #12
    I don't care much about Windows :)
    The power of the 4870is brilliant, but i also want to develop with CUDA, therefore i want both cards.
     
  13. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #13
    Yes. I will.

    Pshh... who cares about that?
     
  14. SnakeOiler Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #14
    I like my setup in my new mac pro. You might wanna think about it. I use a gt120 and an Asus en9600gt silent. Works great. I use NVDarwin.kext to get the 9600 going at boot. The gt 120 has efi so I can see whats going on at boot. I am running 3 dell 24inch 1080p displays. its really nice. Logic board power adatper was spendy at 25 bucks on ebay.
     
  15. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #15
    Vista will go ballistic. Trust me on that one, I've been through it.
     
  16. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #16
    People who want to play games worth playing, without a huge performance deficit.
     
  17. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #17
    So use XP or Se7en. I'm going to have to forgo Vista for one of my copies of these, and frankly, I'm okay with that. :D
     
  18. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #18
    I love how people act like Vista is satan's ass-baby on earth. As far as I'm concerned, OS X could learn a few things from it.

    XP doesn't have DX10, and can see all of 25% of my RAM.

    As for 7, Leopard's close enough to a beta OS that I don't feel the compulsion to run another. It was one thing when my job involved unreleased OSes, but I don't have that job anymore.
     
  19. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #19
    So run 64-bit.

    Leopard is in no way a beta...

    You give props to Vista but you bash Se7en? Strange...

    I've found Se7en to be quite usable; it's a fine improvement over what they've done in the past.
     
  20. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #20
    XP 64 is an unfunny joke, a complete abortion of an OS. _IF_ I could actually find all the right drivers and IF they actually worked, it still wouldn't have Direct X 10, so it'd still be pointless.

    I'm not bashing Windows 7 (Not Se7en. It's an OS, not a David Fincher film), I'm just not prepared to run a beta OS anymore.

    As for Leopard? It's bloated and buggy. Overall very stable, but has some insanely idiosyncratic crap going on that drives me banana sandwich. No, it's not really a beta (Xenu bless hyperbole), but it's not something I'm fond of. I hope to hell and back that Snow Leopard is better.

    And yes, I'll give props to Vista. At least it can gracefully handle a corrupted file in a batch copy without stopping the entire thing, which is a damned sight more than I can say for OS X.
     
  21. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #21
    QFT

    The beta of Windows Seven IS Vista.
    7 is a massive improvement in every way over vista.
     
  22. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #22
    I don't doubt it, but who the hell wants to go through the process of reinstalling or doing HUGE updates as it goes through the stages towards release, and then reinstalling AGAIN once it's actually out?

    Hint: Not me. We get around 72 years on this planet. The first 18 and last 18 barely count, and I don't want to spend a lot of the remaining 36 watching an OS install so I can configure it again.
     
  23. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #23
    Install was about 20 min... much faster then OSX and the updates are no more regular then the Vista ones. You make it seem like it takes hours to do.
     
  24. peskaa thread starter macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #24
    How ballistic is ballistic? To the point it is unusable, and taking cards out is the solution?
     
  25. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #25
    I've been wrong before. I was under the impression that every time a new build spits, you have to completely reinstall.


    The real question is this: Is there any performance benefit for gaming?
     

Share This Page