Organizing Menu Bar icons

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by AlexQQQ, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. AlexQQQ macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    #1
    Hi-

    I am trying to delete an application icon in my menu bar (the top right with the little icons for battery, sound, airport, finder, date and time).

    For apple applications the command and drag (and move works) is good, but the others don't respond (installed a canon printer/scanner).

    So, how do I delete (which is what I want now) or move them around (for future) the icons?

    Thanks and much appreciated.

    Alex
     
  2. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #2
    The menu bar area isn't very documented for programmers, so non-Apple menu bar items won't behave the same as the Apple ones. Like you can't click on one and use the left right arrows to browse to the 3rd party menu bar items.

    Some 3rd party menu bar items do behave like this (like iStat menus) because they have a 3rd party framework that makes them similar to the apple items.

    With the explanation out of the way, the only way to organise these horrible menu bar icons is to open them in the order that you want them to appear. You may have to quit the app that is operating the icon.
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    Moving around can be done via CMD+draggingItAround, removing should be done via the preferences of the program that put it there, which you might even be able to access by clicking on that icon.
     
  4. dolphindolphin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    Only for Apple's icons, not 3rd party.
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    Some 3rd-party applications, like iStat Menus, allow the dragging around. Others don't though.
     
  6. AlexQQQ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    #6
    Opened the application (a canon scanner/printer), it doesn't have preferences (I didn't know that some application don't have preferences...learning all the time). I really hope I am not stuck with the icon (a minor blemish). Thanks for your help so far.

    Alex
     
  7. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #7
    Did you want to remove this icon from your menu bar?
     
  8. AlexQQQ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    #8
    yes, I want to remove (delete) the icon from the menu bar. Any suggestions? Thanks.

    Alex
     
  9. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #9
    If you open up Activity Monitor (in Applications > Utilities). At the top is a drop down menu that probably says 'My Processes'. Change it to 'All Processes'.

    In the columns, sort by Real Memory, with the largest at the top. Then take a screenshot and post it here.
     
  10. AlexQQQ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    #10
    Removed the icon on menu bar. All I had to do was go to the system preference>accounts and remove the program that starts the icon on login. Presto! Much cleaner looking now.

    Thank you for all your help.

    Alex
     

Share This Page