Organizing TV Shows

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by basesloaded190, Sep 20, 2008.

  1. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #1
    I was wondering what the easiest way to organize tv shows. when i ripped the first season of the office i got 6 individual episodes and they ended up in the movie section. how do i get them into the tv show section and organized like i see how people have them?
     
  2. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #2
    Check out the page http://dougscripts.com/itunes/ and find the script called Set Video Kind of Selected. You can change the videos to TV type, enter the show metadata, the season number, and have it auto set the episode number based on a starting value you enter. Also check out MetaX. Does most of the same things, and a lot, lot more.
     
  3. mikenike192 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #3
    i use MetaX to tag my tv shows. I import all the shows in MetaX then type in the tv show name, season number and episode number for each episode. Then I get the episode name, description and air date from the wiki for that show or from imdb. Then I get the hi res artwork from getvideoartwork.com, I'm kind of OCD about my tagging of videos, so mine look very nice looking and look like they are from itunes
     
  4. Shoesy macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #4
    Hey you realise you can change the media kind (tv show / movie / music video) from the - 'get info' / options - dialog right? This should get your videos in the right sections right from inside itunes 8... :cool:
     
  5. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #5
    Yes, but the Make Video Type script does this, applies the show name and season number, and then automatically puts the correct episode number. It takes about 4 clicks to tag an entire season this way rather than the dozens you would need to do it individually.
     
  6. basesloaded190 thread starter macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #6
    thanks for the help guys that really did work. Another question, what i have been doing for tv shows in handbrake is just queing up each episode then having it rip just the episodes instead of all the other stuff. i just look for the length of about 22 mins and select that. is that the easiest way to rip tv shows or am i missing something?
     

Share This Page