Original Battery Capacity is WAY off

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by compsciguy01, May 29, 2010.

  1. compsciguy01 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #1
    Is there any way to reset the original battery capacity? This is a new MacBook pro. I am using coconutBattery and it says my original capacity is only 1300mAh. My current capacity is 12718mAh.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
  3. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  4. compsciguy01 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #4
    I did that. I think that helps to fix the current capacity but I'm having a problem with whatever stored the original capacity. I was hoping to reset it to my current value since my MacBook is pretty new.
     
  5. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    That's not how coconutBattery works. You don't "reset" anything; if the "original capacity" is off submit a bug report to coconut.
     
  6. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    Just to rule out the possibility of it being a coconutBattery bug, go to System Profiler>Power and post the "Full charge capacity (mAh)."

    Mac OS X wouldn't report the wrong number.
     
  7. compsciguy01 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #7
    The full capacity is fine. It's just the "original" capacity that's way off. I was hoping for a more accurate number so I can more easily see the battery health as it ages.
     

Share This Page