original iphone to 4s

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by lillyrose, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. lillyrose macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #1
    So I have an original iphone and am finally upgrading to the newest. Couldn't be more excited. Will I have any issues with my sim card beacuse its so old?
     
  2. ste1164 macrumors 6502a

    ste1164

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    #2
    It is too big, you need to have a microsim for the iPhone 4S. Check with your carrier if they will port your number to one.
     
  3. lillyrose thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #3
    what does that mean "port your number"?

    Does this also mean I loose all my contacts?
     
  4. Bronken macrumors member

    Bronken

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #4
    But the "old" big Sims are technically the same as the Mico Sims.
    You could just cut your sim smaller. There are layouts all over the internet you can print out to know where to cut.
    Theres just less plastic around the Micro Sims
     
  5. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    You'll get a new sim for the new phone, with your same number and no, they can usually transfer them for you, too.
     
  6. ann713 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #6
    The 4S will come with its own micro-SIM card so you just have to activate it.
     
  7. lillyrose thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #7
    Cutting my own sim card scares me. I don't think I'll be doing that.



    but then do I have to go to a store to get them to transfer my contacts? And if so, apple or att?
     
  8. The Californian macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #8
    The iPhone doesn't and will not store your contacts on your SIM - You need to sync them to your computer first.
     
  9. trekkie604 macrumors 65816

    trekkie604

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #9
    Transferring to a new SIM involves either logging into your online account with AT&T or calling them and reading them a 20-digit number.
     
  10. lillyrose thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #10
    Hmm, this was so much easier the first time!


    Well seeing how its 4 and half year old phone it doesn't exactly sync so well. aka, not at all. So I should be writing down all my contacts tonight so I can retype them all in tomorrow. Great... guess it help pass time till my phone gets delieverd.


    So just to clarify, when I get my new phone I'll have to call ATT from a land line to activate it since i can't replace the sim card?
     
  11. The Californian macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #11
    No, it'll come with a new SIM card installed. Once you turn it on it should automatically activate.
     

Share This Page