OS 10.4.11 no worky

Discussion in 'iPad' started by mariahrg, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. mariahrg macrumors member

    mariahrg

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Paso Robles Ca
    #1
    today i picked up my reserved ipad. we got on the subject about my old ibook g4 running OS 10.4.11 and how slow she is. he told me that the ipad is way faster and that i would be stoked getting it. so i get home and come to find out my new ipad is worthless cause i cant use it with my dinosaur. i HAVE to plug it in to a computer to get it started. i know i should have checked to make sure it would work (didnt realize i was that far behind in the times) but at the same time it would of been nice of the apple dude to tell me. i wish i would of set it up there and now im an hour away from the store.
     
  2. blazer deli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    #2
    Yeah that was a snag I ran into. Luckily my wife has a PC I could activate it on.

    Are planning to upgrade to Leopard? If so what is the most economical way?
     
  3. mariahrg thread starter macrumors member

    mariahrg

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Paso Robles Ca
    #3
    well i wanted to upgrade a while ago but i read that i dont have enough ram to run it. ive been totally happy with tiger till now. so to upgrade its gonna cost me about $50 in ram(minimum 10.5 needs), plus $169 for the OS which is not in stock at the local store (1 hour away). im stylin today!!! happy ipad launch day to me!!
     
  4. amirite macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #4
    Just find a friend with a PC.
     
  5. jableskg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #5
    My buddy is having the same problem. It looks like im gonna have to bail him out and let him use my new Macbook Pro to get his iPad working.
     
  6. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
  7. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #7
    That would be why i'm in the process of moving everything over to the kids mini.

    I was hoping to get my computer upgraded by now - but it's now going in for a logic board replacement, and well, just not excited about putting effort into it until it works after that.
     
  8. mariahrg thread starter macrumors member

    mariahrg

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Paso Robles Ca
  9. pjgeer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #9
    Isn't that for the iWork, iLife and Snow leopard kit? Just get the snow leopard and ram, man.

    Pj
     
  10. lynx4ben macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #10
    It is but according to apple's site you must upgrade via the box set to go from Tiger 10.4 for Snow Leopard.

    According to the site you can't just upgrade from Tiger to Snow Leopard for $29 bux. That package only upgrades from Leopard to Snow Leopard.

    Can anyone confirm that it's not possible? I really don't use the ilife products anyway so I don't really want to pay the full fee. Unless anyone can convince me how awesome they are.
     
  11. mariahrg thread starter macrumors member

    mariahrg

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Paso Robles Ca
    #11
    maybe. i dont know. i just asked how much for the minimum to get it going and thats what he told me. either way im not going back down there today...its an hour away. im more bummed out about the guy that sold me the ipad didnt tell me. i would expect that from the official apple store. im bumming a pc *barf* right now just to get it going. IM ANTSY!!!
     
  12. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #12
    How do you expect Snow Leopard to work on an iBook G4?
     
  13. dagored macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
  14. SSOMERS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #14
    Thanks for the post. I was secretly hoping it would somehow work on 10.4.11, with iTunes 9.1 up, despite the official word from Apple.

    You can upgrade from your current OS to Snow Leopard for only $29, despite what Apple says. This is pretty common knowledge, thanks to Mossberg in the WSJ. I've resisted upgrading, just because everything is running so smoothly now. But it looks like I have no choice. I'm not sure why Snow Leop is required. Anyone know the practical reason?
     
  15. bbergie macrumors regular

    bbergie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary
    #15
    Just to clarify here, Snow Leopard requires an intel processor in your Mac. It's not universal and won't operate on a PPC machine.

    Better check the system requirements on Leopard to make sure your iBook will run it.
     
  16. dagored macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #16
    I have an iBook running OS 10.5.8 You can not go any higher. It is a PPC 1.2ghz with max ram of 1.25 gb.
     
  17. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #17
    Snow Leopard won't work on an iBook as it is PPC
     

Share This Page