OS 10.5 Mac RAID software?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by buxtone17, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. buxtone17 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    #1
    I just purchased a pair of external hard drives for redundant backup and was wondering if using the RAID software (for RAID-1) that comes on all Macs is a good idea.

    Has anyone used this software before? Is it reliable?
     
  2. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #2
    Are they both the same size? I used a software RAID on Tiger to make a RAID 5 out of three 750GB drives and it worked great for a long time, then I got rid of the computer.
     
  3. buxtone17 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
  4. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #4
    You should be good to go then. I've found it to work reliably. Don't forget to check now and then to make sure both drives are still healthy.
     
  5. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #5
    I didn't know OS X would do RAID 5
     
  6. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #6
    You're right, my initial plan was to do RAID 5, but then I found out I couldn't do that so I set them up in RAID 0.
     
  7. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #7
    Wow, you went from trying to use a RAID level that would provide protection from any single drive failure to one that increased your chance a total data loss by a factory of 3 compared to no RAID was used.

    S-
     

Share This Page