OS 2.0 applications in 0S 2.2?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by iphonejudy, Jan 31, 2009.

  1. iphonejudy macrumors 6502

    iphonejudy

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #1
    Hi,


    Can we run (highest version)OS 2.0 applications in 0S 2.0(lowest version) devices(iphone)?

    (or)

    IS we need to install OS each time in our devices according to the OS used to develop for applications?

    Thanks
    judy
     
  2. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #2
    My understanding is that if you want to run on machines running 2.0 you have to have built the app using the 2.0 SDK. If you use a later SDK it won't work.

    I've read reports that many iPhone users haven't updated their phones and are still on 2.0. It therefore makes sense to target the lowest SDK possible - 2.0. If you build against 2.0 you can run the app on phones with a later version.
     
  3. detz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #3
    What he said. In XCode when you build your project you have to build it for 2.0 but they have made some major changes since then so certain stuff is not available in that version which limits some development. Also, 2.0 was buggy and a lot of apps got bad reviews because the OS would crash and the apps got blamed so unless you fully test it on 2.0 I would say at least release under 2.1(which is what I do).
     
  4. iphonejudy thread starter macrumors 6502

    iphonejudy

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #4
    Can we run (highest version)OS 2.2.1 applications in 0S 2.0(lowest version) devices(iphone)?

    (or)

    IS we need to install OS each time in our devices according to the OS used to develop for applications?

    Thanks
    judy
    __________________
     
  5. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    The only good reason for running an old OS version is if you are traveling like me and are therefore unable to upgrade the OS, I haven't had many problems running new programs on OS 2.1, and the same applied reasonably well before when I was on 2.0.1 (though it was a little crash-happy).

    Some programs do require a newer version of the OS, a lot of software now requires 2.1 and some, like SimCity requires 2.2.

    If you are developing software and aren't running the latest OS version, then that seems more than a little foolish for me, though also testing on the previous version might be useful.
     
  6. iphonejudy thread starter macrumors 6502

    iphonejudy

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #6
    For each new applications,So we need to install new version OS in our device .
     
  7. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Yes, its a free and painless download through iTunes...
     
  8. iphonejudy thread starter macrumors 6502

    iphonejudy

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #8
    sorry to ask this question yar.

    The application we download thru itunes ,also test in iphones only know?

    Then ,At that time we have that particular version in our phone know?
     
  9. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #9
    What do you mean by build?

    Setting the active SDK to 2.0? or setting the deployment target OS to 2.0 is enough?
     
  10. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    You download the firmware for the iPod touch through iTunes, its an Apple product so it'll detect the version automatically.

    Are you sure you're explaining your problem correctly? If so do you have a real iPhone or iPod touch or are you using a fake iPhone or something?

    This should not be an issue for someone working in the software industry or even a hobbyist programmer...
     

Share This Page