OS upgrade, more ram?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by thetussinmonstr, Oct 17, 2008.

  1. thetussinmonstr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #1
    so my 2.13ghz intel imac, running tiger can support up to 3gb ram..

    would upgrading to leopard / snow leopard allow me to use more ram?
     
  2. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #2
    The OS does not determine the maximum amount of RAM your system can take, its usually limited by the processor. 32-bit processors like the PowerPC G4 and the original Intel Core Duo can support a maximum of 4 GB of memory, while 64-bit processors like the G5 and Intel Core 2 Duo can support quite a bit more.
     
  3. thetussinmonstr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #3
    according to everything i've read about this comp it only supports 3gb?

    2.16ghz intel core 2 duo imac..

    bought it around dec '06 / jan '07
     
  4. RRutter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
    Correct. The 2.16 ghz intel core 2 duo imac's only support up to 3 gb of ram. I'm not sure if upgrading the OS will allow there to be a ram upgrade higher than 3 GB though.
     
  5. milenkod macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Dublin, CA
    #5
    You can put 4GB but only 3.3 will be addressable. It's a limitation of the CPU and chipset (intel Merom, I think). The current platform (last plastic Macbook) runs the intel Santa Rosa chipset which boost addressable memory to 4GB, GMA X3100 graphics and 800Mhz FS Bus rather than 667Mhz.

    I think the Santa Rosa chipset started at 2.2, but there may have been a limited release in 2.0Ghz to begin the series.
     
  6. thetussinmonstr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #6
    so why wouldn't 3.3 be listed as the max memory?

    also, if i put 2x2gb sticks in it would be better than 3gb since it will utilize 3.3gb, correct?
     
  7. stockholmsyn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
  8. thetussinmonstr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #8
    ...?
     
  9. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #9
    The memory difference would be negligible but by installing a matched pair you will get a performance boost by enabling dual channel memory.
     
  10. milenkod macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Dublin, CA
    #10
    that would be Yonnah...Merom will address 4GB in dual channel.
     

Share This Page