OS X 10.10 Yosemite on MacBook Pro 13" 2010 [Owner thread]

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Lince, Jul 23, 2014.

  1. Lince macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    #1
    Hello everyone, I'm currently using Yosemite on my MacBook Pro 13" 2010 (C2D 2,4Ghz, 16GB Ram, 256GB SSD).
    As you can see my mac is @ its maximum potential, I've to say Yosemite DP4 runs really really smoothly. No problem till now.
    @55% of battery life I've 2:10h left to use (700cycles atm)
    If anyone is interested or has the same MacBook model, ask/discuss ;-)
     
  2. PsykX macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    #2
    I bought mine 1 year before, no SSD, and only 4 GB of RAM and there's no way in hell I can use my computer to do stuff.
     
  3. Lince thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    #3
    yours has the 9400m nvidia as I remember and 2,0-2,4ghz c2d.
    I think mine, the 2010 model, won't see anymore updates after Yosemite, next year it will be 5 years old. :confused:
     
  4. dinepada macrumors regular

    dinepada

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Location:
    Perú
    #4
    I own the same mac, this has Nvidia 320m and 4gb of ram no ssd even mavericks has made my mac very slow, but i suppose i can't be worse with yosemite. At least i can disable dashboard in yosemite easily to reduce ram usage
     
  5. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #5
    Sure it will. There's nothing coming in the near future to prevent an OS from running. You may miss out on some features, though, like Continuity.
     
  6. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
  7. Sti-R macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #7
    Nope. 8GB is max.

    I have a 2010 15" MBP with 640GB Hybrid HDD and 8GB of ram. It is so tempting to upgrade to the latest retina models but being unemployed right now just kicks you in the butt.
     
  8. dwfaust macrumors 68040

    dwfaust

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    I am here => [•]
    #8
    Really? I have the 2010 MacBook (7,1) - not the MBP. I currently have a 240GB SSD and 8GB RAM in it. I’ve seen sites online that say it can do 16GB RAM. In my case, it’s overkill and cost prohibitive, but it supposedly can go there.

    And yes, it handles Yosemite DP4 quite well.
     
  9. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #9
    Pretty sure 2010 machines could not support more than 8gb
     
  10. dwfaust macrumors 68040

    dwfaust

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    I am here => [•]
    #10
    OWC says the 6,1 and 7,1 2010 MacBooks can handle it.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Blue Sun macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    Yes, but the 15" and 17" MBPs from 2010 can only take 8GB max.
     
  12. Populus macrumors 6502a

    Populus

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain.
    #12
    ^ Yes, you can put 16GB of RAM on your 2010 13" MBP. Officially only supports 8GB, but you can put up to 16GB.

    So, lets back to the topic: Yosemite on a 13" 2010 MPB. The one with the nVidia 320m. The ones who say that Yosemite runs really smooth... Is it because you have SSD? Is It because of the 16GB of RAM?

    My Mac is a MBP 7.1, a 13" from 2010, and I'm planning either buying a SSD, or selling my MBP and buy a new retina MBP. And all because Yosemite runs laggy on my MBP. Try to invoque Mission Control with 3-4 windows/apps, and some of them full screen. It's not fluid, It's not snappy, and definitely it's not smooth.

    And this is a clean install of the Public Beta 2 (DP6).

    Any suggestions?
     
  13. dinepada macrumors regular

    dinepada

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Location:
    Perú
    #13
    with the new PB2 my 2010 macbook pro 13" is slower than it was with the PB1 :(

    ----------

    If I have the money, i sell my old macbook pro and get a new one the main problem is the Hard Disk (very slow for OS X, which is a OS made for SSD) and a secondary problem is our OLD core 2 duo processor.
     
  14. Populus macrumors 6502a

    Populus

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain.
    #14
    I think, my dear dinepada, than our worst problem is the integrated graphics and the little amount of VRam (only 256MB). If the SSD could make my Yosemite animations more fluid and improve the overall performance of my Mac, I'd buy one.

    But something says to me that all this sluggish behavior is due to the graphics and, in lesser degree, to our OLD (as you say) Core 2 Duo Penryn.
     
  15. oMc macrumors 6502

    oMc

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Location:
    Finland & France
    #15
    I have the 2010 13" MBP too, upgraded with 8 GB of RAM, and a home-made Fusion Drive.

    Yosemite is running very well, it is even faster since the DP6/PB2 update. Mavericks was also running very well.

    If you have this MBP with a HDD and both Mavericks/Yosemite are slow, you just need a SSD. A little bit more RAM can help, too.
     
  16. kslingo macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #16
    I put a SSD in my machine and Installed Yosemite and now I can't reboot. Whenever I try to reboot, my machine throws a prohibition symbol at me and I have to power off and turn back on and it will boot fine.

    Any ideas?
     
  17. dinepada macrumors regular

    dinepada

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Location:
    Perú
    #17
    I think you need to format the SSD before to put it as main(boot) drive
     
  18. jh12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    #18
  19. catenakai macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Location:
    Colorado
    #19
    Yosemite update on late 2010 Intel Macbook Pro

    I have read a few post here in the past, and was leery of updating from Lion to Mavericks and/or Yosemite. I made the decision to update, due in part to issues in getting new drivers or software running with Lion. To date haven't had issues (hopefully I don't jinx this) with Yosemite.

    I did take some advise before making the switch. First, I added an additional 4MB of RAM, then did a clean install instead of doing an update. To date, I have no issue with battery life, actually it seem slightly better. Speed is obviously not an issue with the extra ram. The computer does seem to run a little warmer than before, but nothing detrimental. The most difficult item I have had is getting use to the new look. Am happy I made the switch.
     

Share This Page