OS X 10.11.4 Beta 3 Bug fixes and Changes

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by vista980622, Feb 13, 2016.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. vista980622, Feb 13, 2016
    Last edited by vista980622: Feb 19, 2016

    vista980622 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #1
    Please report bugs to bugreport.apple.com or through the built-in feedback assistant. (a developer account is not required to do either of this).

    This is a Wiki post, so feel free to add anything you've discovered :)

    OS X 10.11.4
    Build:
    15E39d


    New Bugs
    • None discovered
    New Features
    • A new ‘Import Notes…’ option allows importing Notes from Evernote, .txt and .rtf files
    • Adds support for viewing and creating encrypted notes
    • Supports iCloud syncing for iBooks
    • Supports viewing and sharing Live Photos taken through iMessages
    Bug fixes
    • CrashSafari website no longer does anything.
    • t.co links are now resolved correctly
    • Steinberg Elicenser now works again, without error messages (and having to unplug/replug continually)
    Performance
    • None discovered
    Work-in-progress
    • A hidden system-wide dark theme that affects application chrome, in addition to Dock and Menu Bar.
    Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 8.17.11 PM.png
     
  2. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #2
    the Steinberg Elicenser issue is fixed (in the previous beta, the usb dongle had to be unplugged/replugged between opening successive projects in Logic X). i use it for Nexus2. the problem's fixed in this new beta.
     
  3. KoolAid-Drink macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #3
    I thought iCloud syncing for iBooks were already included since 10.9? Isn't that the point of signing in with your Apple ID when using iBooks?
     
  4. vista980622 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #4
    That syncs your bookmarks.
    Now iCloud syncs (non-DRM protected) books themselves.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 13, 2016 ---
    This is a Wiki post, so feel free to directly add anything you've discovered to the original thread :)
     
  5. iTTT macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
  6. jonobin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #6
    Can someone with the beta installed compare the .4 vs .3 in stability, UI glitches, frame rate drops and other things?

    I can't even imagine that el capitan is even worse than yosemite in a 13" 2015 mbpro!!
     
  7. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #7
    am on a 13" 2015 mbp, and .4 is fine...just as .3 was here. am not seeing UI glitches, frame rate drops, etc. so, something you should investigate. perhaps a clean install of the OS?...
     
  8. jonobin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #8
    I've already re-installed the OS, but sometimes the frames just drop, sometimes the scrollbars appear even if they shouldn't, sometimes applications crashes, system preferences takes a huge time to load, shutdown times seems to be a lot worse than yosemite and so on.

    Maybe you are not noticing these issues, but I can guarantee that they are there ;)
     
  9. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #9
    i can't notice what isn't happening. you're having issues, and need to look into them...especially since they aren't 'global' issues that everyone is having. contact apple, you're under warranty...
     
  10. jonobin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #10
    I've experienced the same issues even with demo products in apple stores o retails.

    Just try to quickly scroll in 'Activity Monitor' under CPU tab, you can see how it drops frames ;)
     
  11. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #11
    just tried that, and no dropped frames. what processor do you have? i have the 3.1 i7...
     
  12. kagharaht macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    #12
    Does this build fix Bonjour Sleep Proxy Failure?
     
  13. jonobin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #13


    If you can't see the frame drops you are blind.

    [It behaves the same in every retina mac I've tried]
     
  14. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #14
    not blind, and not happening here. sorry. try setting the view by name, so the cpu usage values don't change while you're scrolling...
     
  15. mporcheron macrumors member

    mporcheron

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #15
    This has been one of those features that had never been implemented for no obvious reason – they sync text replacement strings across OSs, but somehow missed out the obvious non-iBookstore files (requiring you to use the PITA iTunes to sync them).

    https://support.apple.com/en-gb/HT202075
     
  16. jaredwsmith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #16
    Can't seem to edit the first post (must be due to newbie status) but Beta 3 fixes a really terrible kernel panic upon waking the machine if a VirtualBox VM is running.
     
  17. jonobin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #17
    the only difference that there are from mine to yours mbpro is the i5 vs the i7, although I have 16gb of ram, I don't think this is a hardware issue since every *retina* mac I've tried had this issue. Maybe you are using it at a different resolution?
     
  18. fisherking, Feb 17, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2016

    fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #18
    also 16gb ram, but...resolution could be it, am running 2560 x 1600. later today, i'll revert to the default, and test it out...

    EDIT: switched to the default resolution, scrolled in activity monitor (cpu), and...smooth. sorry. how many retina macs have you tested? a dozen? a thousand? apparently, not everyone has this issue (perhaps the .4 beta has fixed this? since i am only testing it out now)?...

    EDIT2: look at your cpu usage: first 3 items are using a LOT of cpu...something to check out.
     
  19. jonobin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #19
    If you pause the video around 0:09 you can see that the app that is eating the CPU is activity monitor itself, as every other application while you scroll.
    You can try that putting 2 windows(activity monitor and a app that you choose) side-by-side and you can see how scrolling makes that app eating CPU %.
    Well, if you are on .4 maybe they had fixed that :)

    I've tried 10 to 20 retina macs. Surprisingly the not-pro-macbook is less choppy while scrolling, but the choppiness it's here too.

    If you make a little research on google you can find a lot of people experiencing the same issues, like this .
     
  20. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #20
    are you seeing this issue elsewhere? or just in activity monitor? i do have 'reduce transparency' on in the Accessibility preferences. otherwise...everything seems to scroll smoothly; i mean, if it's just activity monitor...how much time do you spend with that app? if it's elsewhere (or everywhere), not sure what's up. i tried this on a collaborator's new macbook pro (she has the same mac as me, but only 8gb ram), and seems fine. anyone else on this forum have the issue, or any thoughts?
     
  21. jonobin, Feb 17, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2016

    jonobin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #21
    Reduce transparency helps for sure ;)

    Try scrolling faster, if I scroll slower the issue doesn't shows up, as you can see in the video :)

    EDIT: this issue is showing almost exclusively on activity monitor, and sometimes I have some frame drops with expose/mission control. I agree that you have to pay a lot of attenction and to be a lot maniac of the 60fps thing to notice that, but to me it seems the minimum to pretend an 2015 Os to run buttery smooth on a 2015 machine.

    Said that I remember Yosemite with reduced transparency on to be smoother than El Capitan.
     
  22. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #22
    how much time do you spend with Activity Monitor? are you getting your work done (or whatever you use your mac for)? i have some issues (reported with the Feedback Assistant). but really, how often are you in Activity Monitor?
     
  23. jonobin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #23
    For sure I don't spend my day scrolling up and down on activity monitor, for sure I can get my work done whatever El Capitan has UI lags, but if I wanted a computer to fight with to have a decent experience I'd have bought a cheap pc with Windows and not a 1700$ worth Mac.


    And I bet almost everyone can get the work done even with a PC/Mac with an OS from 7 years ago, that just doesn't justify Apple for releasing a bad OS.
     
  24. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #24
    but it's not a bad OS if people are getting their work done. ALL os'es have bugs, issues...it's an endless process. i have issues with 10.11, but am also working faster, in a more stable environment, than maybe ever before (10.6.8 was pretty great). stop fighting with your mac, and get on with it; big picture.
     
  25. jonobin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #25
    I don't accept this kind of issues/bugs in an OS that Apple has advertised to improve graphical performance and app loading time where the previous OS has had better performance in that fileds on my machine.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page