Os x 10.6.8

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jsf721, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. jsf721 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Location:
    Li, NY
    #1
    Dumb question, i think I am running snow leopard but it does not say it anywhere? I want to upgrade to Mountian Lion but don't know where i am now.

    I have a 3.06 Intel and 4 gigs of ram so I tink I am good to go.

    Will I loose any functionality? Mission control?
     
  2. 808? macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    Top left corner of your desktop > Apple Logo > About This Mac
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
     > About This Mac
     
  4. OLDCODGER macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lucky Country
    #4
    Mission Control? Not on Snow Leopard.
     
  5. jsf721 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Location:
    Li, NY
    #5
    How do I know what OS I have All it states is the numbers listed above in my first post.

    thanks

     
  6. trustever macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    #6
    mate if it says 10.6.8 is the last version of Snow Leopard, I suggest you making an image of the system as it is now just in case you change your mind and want to get SL... The downgrade procedure with out that image is a nightmare..

    Good luck with the update!
     
  7. OLDCODGER macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lucky Country
    #7
    Hmmmm, there was an early "version" of Lion (10.7.x) that returned a value of 10.6.8, IIRC.
     
  8. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #8
    No.
     
  9. OLDCODGER, Feb 19, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2013

    OLDCODGER macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lucky Country
    #9
    Then something does not add up.

    EDIT: Just trying to be polite, here.
     
  10. MrMike6by9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #10
    I'm also running 10.6.8 on a 2011 MBP. What imaging/drive clone app would be recommended as a safety net prior to upgrading to ML? I just got a new 1TB Thunderbolt external to host my backup.
     
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
  12. MrMike6by9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
  13. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #13
    To find out what Mac OS X version you run, click :apple: > About This Mac:
    [​IMG]

    Depends on how much Spaces you use. Mission Control is not a part of Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard, it became the replacement for Spaces in Mac OS X 10.7 Lion and OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion.

    Imagine going from Spaces in Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard, looking like this
    [​IMG]
    to Mission Control in Mac OS X 10.7 Lion, looking like this
    [​IMG]
    Of course, not everyone uses that many Spaces, but Mission Control seriously hampers the usefulness of more than four virtual desktops.
     
  14. jsf721 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Location:
    Li, NY
    #14
    Thanks, How do you actuivate it?

     
  15. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #15
    How do you activate what? Ar you still using Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard and meant Spaces or are you already using OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion and meant Mission Control?


     

Share This Page