OS X 10.6 + Boot Camp + 64-bit W7 Professional?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Dreezy, Mar 12, 2010.

  1. Dreezy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    #1
    Would this work on my MBP? 2010, 2.53GHz, 4GB RAM.

    I am not getting used to this (excuse my french) damned operating system, and I use a lot of stock trading software that only is Windows compatible. :eek:
     
  2. rumpus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    #2
    Did you just call Mac OS "damned" operating system ? :eek:
     
  3. nj-mac-user macrumors 6502

    nj-mac-user

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #4
    Many people already have that setup, so the answer is yes.
     
  4. Dreezy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    #5
    Kewl.

    Could someone point me in the direction of a step-by-step guide of said procedure? I am a complete n00b when it comes to these things.
     
  5. phrint macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    Consider yourself pointed.

    http://www.apple.com/support/bootcamp/
     
  6. dbaird323 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Location:
    Cookeville/Johnson City, TN
    #7
    Heck, Im running windows 7 ultimate 64bit on my macbook, and its able to run SolidWorks premium 64bit without any trouble. I have a 2.4Ghz processor and only 2Gb RAM (soon to be 4). you will be fine. The install was very easy. If you have any trouble installing drivers you will need to activate the administrator account in windows and use that instead of your regular account when installing the drivers. You can deactivate it after all of the drivers are installed.
     
  7. kny3twalker macrumors 65816

    kny3twalker

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #8
  8. tasslehawf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #9
    Solidworks usually requires a workstation class video card to run...
     

Share This Page