os x and data transfer

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Pmacman, Jun 5, 2012.

  1. Pmacman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #1
    Hi there i own a Mini Mac with os x 10.6.8 and an iMac aluminum with os x 10.5.8 , is there any way for me to transfer all the data from Mini to iMac including os using just a home wired network
     
  2. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #2
    This will erase the data on the iMac:

    Turn off both Macs.
    Connect the two Macs with a FireWire cable.
    Turn on the mini and wait until it's booted up.
    Turn on the iMac, pressing and holding the "T" key right after switching it on. This will boot it in Target Disk Mode and make its internal HDD appear on the mini.
    Use Disk Utility to format the iMacs HDD. All data will be lost.
    Use Carbon Copy Cloner to clone the mini's HDD to the iMac's HDD.

    It sounds more complicated and troublesome than it is.
     
  3. Pmacman, Jun 5, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2012

    Pmacman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #3
    can this be done with a regular ethernet cable
     
  4. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
  5. forty2j macrumors 68030

    forty2j

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #5
    If they're on the same LAN, then you can enable network sharing on one and find it in Finder on the other. But it won't work with a direct Ethernet cable from one to the other. There needs to be a router in between.
     
  6. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #6
    No, there doesn't need to be a router. Just set both Macs to DHCP and they'll be able to communicate.

    But as I stated above, you won't be able to transfer the OS that way.
     
  7. Pmacman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #7
    then i have a problem , i cant get FireWire cable , all i have is ,router , 2 ethernet cables and an external hdd .I was sniffing around in ccc and im not sure that il be able to "paste" hdd data to my iMac while its os is running , it can make a disc clone on a remote mac but just as a backup , maybe if i save clone to external hdd and then run ccc on imac and make it use that clone on external hdd to restore data , do u think that would work .
    Im not familiar with ccc and its capabilities , i never used it before but i have some basic it knowledge and would really like to have this thing fixed , im sry for spam and i appreciate ur help
     
  8. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #8
    You didn't say you have an external HDD at hand.

    You pretty much described the way to go:
    CCC on Mac mini to external HDD.
    Boot iMac off the external HDD.
    Use CCC to clone external HDD to iMac HD.

    That's it.
     
  9. Pmacman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012

Share This Page