OS X El Capitan's Disk Utility is a mess

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by jonblatho, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. jonblatho, Jun 21, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2015

    jonblatho macrumors 6502

    jonblatho

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    Oklahoma/Missouri
    #1
    Not sure what happened with this, or why I decided trusting the redesigned Disk Utility application in OS X El Capitan was a good idea, but it gave my iMac quite the run for its money over the past few days until I fixed it.

    Just in case anyone has a similar experience, I figured I'd post my experience here. Hopefully, it'll be of service to someone who knows next to squat about partition schemes and so on.

    Ever since I'd received my iMac with Retina display, I'd never gotten around to setting up Time Machine. I'm not too invested in having a full system backup, but being able to recover a file when needed is pretty nice.

    I'm not too worried about drive failure, as I keep super-important files backed up to a flash drive and/or the Internet, so I've always used Time Machine on a disk partition—I've never used even close to all of my disk space, so I might as well put it to some use.

    Enter OS X El Capitan with its (admittedly pretty) redesigned Disk Utility application. I figured that the El Capitan developer preview was as good a time as any to get Time Machine going, and I went to create a ~400 GB partition on my 1 TB Fusion Drive. All was well.

    Until Disk Utility locked up. And then crashed. [expletive].

    I was left with 400 GB of unusable storage. Disk Utility wouldn't do anything in First Aid, I couldn't delete the partition (it seems Disk Utility forgot how to merge partitions), and diskutil in Terminal was also being a pain with the repairVolume function—as the partition couldn't be mounted.

    So, the fix I found:
    1. Boot into Single-User Mode (Command-Shift-S upon boot)
    2. Enter "/sbin/fsck -fy" then "exit" or "reboot" once it's complete
    3. Reboot normally
    4. Open Terminal and use "diskutil list" to find the identifier of the broken partition
    5. Enter "diskutil eraseVolume JHFS+ [new name] [volume identifier]"
    After that, it should be usable for whatever use supports Journaled HFS+. Of course, you can use any format you'd like in place of "JHFS+".

    Hope this might help at least one poor soul out there, since it's been a couple days of hair-pulling for me. If nothing else, I'd stay away from the new Disk Utility for the time being.
     
  2. bobbytomorow macrumors 6502

    bobbytomorow

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Location:
    Left Coast
    #2
    I hate the new disk utility it sucks, GUI is way to simple and the options are super limited now. I've been having nothing but problems with it and trying to access/edit external drives
     
  3. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3
    Could someone post a screenshot of the new Disk Utility application?
     
  4. hobsgrg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #4
    Here you go

    [​IMG]
     
  5. frex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    You can't even resize a partition anymore... Wish it's just a temp limit in DP1 and will be fixed in next few DPs
     
  6. nesl247 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    You guys all realize that in the release notes it specifically states that a lot of the functionality hasn't been added yet?
     
  7. Watabou macrumors 68040

    Watabou

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    No one reads the release notes. When they "downloaded" the OS, it didn't have the release notes. ;)

    Although to be fair, it only mentions disk image conversion and RAID. Doesn't say anything about partitions. They will likely add in more features since you can still use many of the features with the `diskutil` command.
     
  8. LucasG macrumors regular

    LucasG

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #8
    They probably haven't finished the GUI for all the features that are missing that should usually be there. You should never trust a beta to do critical stuff properly.
     
  9. DoctorFedora macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    #9
    gosh, it's almost as though it's unfinished software we're talking about here
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    Perhaps, but by the same token Apple does have a history of dumbing down and limiting options. I wouldn't be surprised if this is the finished version and we can no longer do what we want in the app like in prior versions.
     
  11. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #11
    It does?
     
  12. xmichaelp macrumors 68000

    xmichaelp

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #12
    It's a beta. They probably haven't finished it.
     
  13. MattXDA macrumors 6502

    MattXDA

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    You can in DP2 :)
    [​IMG]
     
  14. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #14
    It's also much faster. It used to take a few seconds to render the graphs for the main drive but in DP2, instant. The app is more responsive.
     
  15. SG- macrumors regular

    SG-

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    #15
    clearly people don't understand what developer preview means. not finished, not done, stuff is broken, stuff will slowly be fixed over the next few months.
     
  16. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #16
    Indeed. I got yelled at for telling someone that in another thread.
     
  17. thirdeyeopen666 macrumors 6502

    thirdeyeopen666

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #17
    You didn't tell me that, I already knew. I wasn't complaining, I was commenting. Really dude, time to get over yourself.
     
  18. \-V-/ Suspended

    \-V-/

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    #18
    So ... another +1 for it's a developer preview. :cool:
     
  19. bobbytomorow macrumors 6502

    bobbytomorow

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Location:
    Left Coast
    #19
    So um just shut up and not comment on the current state of the software, is that what you are saying? The whole point of a preview is to give feedback, so yeah get used to people criticizing when things aren't operating the way they should be.
     
  20. \-V-/ Suspended

    \-V-/

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    #20
    I don't think he's implying that everyone should shut up or not talk about bugs. But the way the OP was talking makes it seem like he's just expecting it to work perfectly. Case in point:

    You should never trust ANY beta software with something important, much less expect it to work exactly as it should. That's why they're betas.
     
  21. PsykX macrumors 6502a

    PsykX

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    #21
    It was about time they redesigned this app if you want my opinion. I've been asking it since at least Lion.

    I'm sorry the functionalities don't yet meet your standards in beta 2.
     
  22. xmichaelp macrumors 68000

    xmichaelp

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #22
    Sexy. I like the pie chart and the blue they use which matches the arrow bars.
     
  23. MrNomNoms macrumors 65816

    MrNomNoms

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #23
    This is a developer preview and if you're an authorised developer then you would know that there is the appropriate channel to submit the feedback through. Apple does not going trawling through the posts on Macrumors to find diamonds in the rough, they use the feedback they're given through the developer forum, bug submissions and so forth. If you want to be useful to Apple then use those channels to provide feedback or otherwise posting on here is the equivalent of yelling into the breeze.
     
  24. matt2053 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    #24
    It was in DP1 as well, I don't know what OP was smokin'
     
  25. frex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #25
    This is pretty. Worth noting all operations are done as a series, meaning if you enlarge, shrink, add, remove, etc and click apply, all operations will be processed one by one (I learnt that by dragging the pie a few times then back to 100% and hit apply...)
     

Share This Page