OS X Lion Routine Maintenance

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by bbdd005, Oct 2, 2011.

1. bbdd005 macrumors newbie

I'm new to OS X Lion and just wondering what some of you guys are doing to keep Lion running fast?

Thanks!

2. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

Routine maintenance is not something that a user has to perform on a Mac. Leave your computer alone and it will take care of itself.

3. Watabou macrumors 68040

Watabou

As MisterMe said, you don't need to worry about maintenance on a mac. OS X runs maintence once every day, once every week and once every month.

If you want to do some cleaning and maybe some tweaking however, Onyx is a very good app.

4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Mac OS X maintains itself. There's nothing you need to do to keep your Mac running well. Just use it and enjoy it.

5. bbdd005 thread starter macrumors newbie

6. Quad5Ny macrumors 6502a

Quad5Ny

• iDefrag every few months if you have a spinning HD and create/delete a lot of files.
    • Repair Disk Permissions when there is a OS point release (ie. 10.7.1, 10.7.2, ect.)
    • And make sure the log folders don't get too large (OS X will normally keep the log files in check, but I've seen some users on this forum with 20+ GB worth of logs :rolleyes:)

Other than that OS X will maintain itself.

7. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

defrag is not needed and apple actually has a KB article stating that it can degrade performance.

No need to repair disk permissions any more. That was the case when osx was at the 10.1 level. now its more myth. There are times when it could be helpful but at this stage its not needed.

Log folders get archived by OSX's automated maintenance scripts.

This MacWorld article sums it up nicely on those points

8. STEALTH714 macrumors newbie

If you want to do some cleaning and maybe some tweaking however, Onyx is a very good app.

I had Onyx with Snow Leopard but have not seen a Lion version.