OS X Mavericks Features iMac Late 2012? PowerNap etc...

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by domdom83, Oct 7, 2013.

  1. domdom83 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    #1
    OS X Mavericks brings new features to the mac... Great... but... here are my questions:
    Does PowerNap work on an iMac with a standard HD?
    Does AppNap work too?
    Will it consume more or less memory than Mountain Lion?
    Should I upgrade to 16gb?
     
  2. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #2
    No
    Yes
    It's more efficient with memory
    No
     
  3. domdom83 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    #3
    Thanx!
    What if i change to an external ssd on USB 3.0?
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    Powernap only works on Macs that were built with an SSD.
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Powernap only works on newer Mac portables. It does not work on iMacs.

    See here.
     
  6. domdom83 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    #6
    Thanks
     
  7. wjnieuw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    #7
    I updated to Mavericks and I can select "enable Powernap" in my settings..... I have an iMac 2012.
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    If you look at the link in my post, Apple says it only works on the portables on that list. I don't believe iMacs have the hardware to run Powernap. I wonder if this is a bug in Mavs that shows that checkbox even if the machine does not support Powernap? Have you tested that it actually works?
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Check this out. Looks like maybe Mavs does enable Powernap on some iMacs.
     
  10. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #10
    I'm also able to enable it on late 2012 Minis, one with a Fusion drive, one with standard spinning disks only.
     
  11. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #11
    If you're talking about an existing system, get Mavericks and see if you need a memory upgrade. If you're talking about a new system, it depends on which Mac you're looking at.
     
  12. gorskiegangsta macrumors 65816

    gorskiegangsta

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #12
    Not entirely true. PowerNap was initially designed to work exclusively with newer portable Macs. It looks like Apple may expand PowerNap compatibility to iMacs with Mavericks.
    http://www.macrumors.com/2013/10/07/mavericks-to-include-support-for-power-nap-on-imacs/ And based on this info, there's no reason why it can't be enabled on any reasonably new Mac Mini or Pro.
     
  13. domdom83 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    #13
    In fact I've read that PowerNap can be used on iMac (2012 and 2013). You just need Mavericks and an SSD or FusionDrive.

    I'm definitely getting a 250Gb SSD in the next few days.
     
  14. DavidBlack macrumors 6502a

    DavidBlack

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Location:
    Somewhere In Apple's HQ ;)
    #14
    That information is incorrect though, I have an iMac 2012 (No SSD or fusion drive) but it has the option in system preferences.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. benwiggy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #15
    It will use more of your available memory, but it will use it ... wisely.
    Only if you are getting slowdowns due to swapping out to disk.
     

Share This Page