OS X Mavericks required 4 pin

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by Okayniel, Apr 4, 2014.

  1. Okayniel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    #1
    Hi ,
    I upgrade to OS maverick and is required 4 digit lock pin which I don't have it,what should I do with it?please advice ,thanks
     
  2. dmccloud macrumors 6502a

    dmccloud

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    #2
    What do you mean by a 4 digit lock PIN? You sure it's not asking for your login password for the machine itself?
     
  3. Okayniel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    #3
    I only have 6 login pin ,never have 4 pin before .
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    4 digit or 6-digit PIN makes no sense on OS X, but is that actually on iOS 7, and not OS X ?
    Tell us which Mac you have, please …
    And, can you explain exactly when that PIN is required?
    Is that a user login (which also shows your account name), or is it a simple blank line, with a padlock on one end?
    Finally, why do you believe you are limited to only 4 characters?
     
  5. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #5
    It makes sense for a Mac which has been locked with Find my Mac.

    A.
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
  7. Okayniel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Nope... this has the same effect as an EFI password that prevents the boot source from changing.

    The process in the thread DeltaMac linked can work on pre-2011 models where the EFI lock could be cleared by removing a stick of RAM, but if OP has a 2011 or newer machine a visit to the Apple Store (along with proof of ownership) is going to be required.

    OP's machine has been locked down with a remote Find my Mac command.
     
  10. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #10



    Ah I see, I figured I would ask in case it ever happened to me.
     

Share This Page