OS X Mountain Lion - replace lion disk utility?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by iOrbit, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. iOrbit macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #1
    does anyone know if upgrading to mountain lion, will replace my lion-disk utility that is installed on the mother board? i would rather it was mountain lion, since the only way i'll be able to get lion back now, is through this. (i never purchased lion)
     
  2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    Disk Utility is not installed on your Logic Board, it is an integral part of OSX. Upgrading to Mountain Lion will simply update OSX to the latest version and is installed on your HARD DRIVE.

    It makes no difference to reverting back...If you want to do that, you would simply wipe your HDD and re-install Lion. Disk Utility is part of an Operating System...Nothing except EFI updates are stored anywhere on your Logic Board.
     
  3. iOrbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #3
    i wish i made a lion usb key now, i think i better make one before i install mountain lion. can i put it on a regular external hdd (that is formatted to mac os journaled extended?)

    do you happen to know a good link on how to do this?
     
  4. Fernandez21 macrumors 601

    Fernandez21

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #4
    my recovery partition on my MBA now reads Recovery 10.8 after upgrading to mountain lion. I did a clean install from that and it installed mountain lion. So if you want to revert to Lion at a later time, you should make a USB installer now before you upgrade. I'm not sure about how you do that, but you could probably google it or search these forums to find out how.
     
  5. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
  6. iOrbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #6
    it says only 1gb free is needed, does this actually put a copy of lion on the hdd or does it just put the disk assistant on the hdd? in future i want to avoid re downloading the OS all together.
     
  7. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #7

    No, you still need an internet connection. If you want a full copy, I think Apple are still selling them on a USB drive:

    Just checked...No longer available...You might have some luck on ebay though.
     

    Attached Files:

    • USB.png
      USB.png
      File size:
      45.2 KB
      Views:
      46
  8. iOrbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #8
    this is great, i won't need lion if that is the case, but incase it doesnt work for my macbook (pro 2011) then i will make a usb thumb of lion, downloading can take a long time here.
     

Share This Page